Books

The Fifty Bookish Questions Book Tag

Hello readers, it’s a Sunday night and I felt like doing a book tag. I found this lovely tag on the fantastic blog that is Life of a Female Bibliophile. It’s a quite a lot of questions so I will keep my answers short and sweet. Let’s get on to the questions!

1. What was the last book you read?

“We Are All Made of Molecules” by Susin Nielsen, see my review here.

2. Was it a good one?

Yes it was.

3. What made it good?

It has two well thought through characters and is a different yet brilliant contemporary read.

4. Would you recommend it to other people?

Yes, especially if you like contemporary books!

5. How often do you read?

If I am not busy or in a reading slump most days, especially just before I got to bed.

6. Do you like to read?

Of course.

7.What was the last bad book you read?

“The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins.

8. What made you dislike it?

This isn’t a popular opinion on this book, most people love it, but I just couldn’t get into the story line and I wanted more action in it.

9. Do you wish to be a writer?

I did when I was younger, I used to write little stories for my family, but my imagination isn’t as large as it used to be so at the minute I don’t think I could be.

10. Has any book every influenced you greatly?

Lots of books have influenced me, a couple of them being, “Room” by Emma Donoghue and “Faceless” by Alyssa B. Sheinmel.

7937843

11. Do you read fan fiction?

Not currently, maybe I will sometime soon.

12. Do you write fan fiction?

I do not.

13. What’s your favorite book?

This changes quite often due to not having read all the books yet. But at the minute it has to be “Room” by Emma Donoghue, that book is just beautiful.

14. What’s your least favorite book?

It has to be “The Girl on the Train” by Paula Hawkins

15. Do you prefer physical books or ready on a device (like a kindle)?

Physical books all the way, I just love being able to carry a book around.

16. When did you learn to read?

I think maybe 4/5. My mum always used to read to me when I was younger and I just started to read because of that.

17. What is your favorite book you had to read in school?

“Of Mice and Men” by John Steinbeck, not my usual genre of book but I really enjoyed it.

18. What is your favorite book series?

At the current moment it has to be “The Hunger Games” series by Suzanne Collins, but “The 5th Wave” series by Rick Yancey is slowly but surely overtaking to become my favourite series.

19. Who is your favorite author?

I can’t pick one don’t do this to me! I love Rainbow Rowell and John Green.

20. What is your favorite genre?

Young Adult, contemporary, romance and dystopian books are my favourite genres.

action-background-backgrounds-books-Favim.com-1989294

21. Who is your favorite character in a book series?

I really like Cassie in “The 5th Wave” series, she is just an all round character who I feel I have quite a bit in common with.

22. Has a book ever transported you somewhere else?

Yes, that’s what books are supposed to do I think anyway.

23.Which book do you wish had a sequel?

“Eleanor and Park” by Rainbow Rowell – I love this book so much, I have read it multiple times and I am currently listening to the audiobook. I would just love a little bit more of Eleanor and Park in my life.

24. Which book do you wish DIDN’T have a sequel?

I really can’t think of anything for this/

25. How long does it take you to read a book?

Depends how busy I am and how much I’m enjoying the book. Sometimes it can take between one to two days, but if I am really busy they can take a week because I don’t get the reading time I want to when I am busy.

26. Do you like when books become movies?

It really depends on the book I think – there are some that I have really loved and some that haven’t really worked. I wasn’t a huge fan of “The Hunger Games” movies and I don’t dare to see “The 5th Wave” film in case it ruins it for me/

27. Which book was ruined by its movie adaptation?

I also don’t know a book to answer this question.

28. Which movie has done a book justice?

I am going to have to say “Love, Rosie” was a brilliant adaption of the book “Where Rainbows End”  by Cecelia Ahern. The Characters in the film just matched really well what my idea of the characters in the book was. Also it is was brilliantly acted.

29. Do you read newspapers?

Every so often – I do read quite a few online.

30: Do you read magazines?

Not many – I occasionally pick up a copy of Empire because I am a huge fan of the film industry.

1195431703233884825Stellaris_Clapper-board.svg.hi.png

31. Do you prefer newspapers or magazines?

A lot of the time newspapers but in terms of articles on films and tv then I would pick magazines.

32. Do you read while in bed?

All of the time.

33. Do you read while on the toilet?

Occasionally I do.

34. Do you read while in the car?

I would love to but I get very travel sick and more than often I am the one driving, so instead I listen to audiobooks

35. Do you read while in the bath?

I don’t I am always terrified of dropping my book in the bath.

36. Are you a fast reader?

I can be.

37. Are you a slow reader?

Nope.

38. Where is your favorite place to read?

It would have to be my room, I enjoy getting snug and getting lost in a book.

39. Is it hard for you to concentrate while you read?

Sometimes.

40.Do you need a room to be silent while you read?

Nope, I very often read my book whilst my boyfriend is on his Xbox being loud whilst playing games with his friends, so if I can concentrate through that I can concentrate through anything.

Placeholder Image

41. Who gave you your love for reading?

It would have to be my Mum or my Grandma, they both love reading themselves and they used to take me to the nearby bookshop every weekend so I could get a new book to read.

42. What book is next on your list to read?

It is between “The Night Circus” by Erin Morgenstern and “13 Minutes” by Sarah Pinborough.

43. When did you start to read chapter books?

I think maybe the age of 7. Reading came to me very easily and I was bought chapter books due to how much I read.

44. Who is your favorite children’s book author?

It would have to be between Roald Dahl and Jacqueline Wilson.

45. Which author would you most want to interview?

I would love to interview Rainbow Rowell, I have many questions for her.

46. Which author do you think you’d be friends with?

Rainbow Rowell I think and Carrie Hope Fletcher.

47.What book have you reread the most?

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

48. Which books do you consider “classics”?

I guess books in the literary cannon.

49. Which books do you think should be taught in every school?

Books that actually get people into reading. A mixture of contemporary and classics and books that young people will enjoy. I think they should include more recently published books to show what is being written at that time.

50. Which books should be banned from all schools?

I don’t think books should be banned from schools unless they are really inappropriate. Book are wonderful things that open our eyes to the world around us.

There you go, fifty questions and a very long post! Tag me if you decide to complete this monstrous tag as well or tweet me @loisreadsbooks

One thought on “The Fifty Bookish Questions Book Tag

Leave a Reply

