Book review · Books · Review · Uncategorized

Book Review: On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

On the Other Side by Carrie Hope FletcherIMG_1638.JPG

Pages – 340

Released – 14th July 2016

Publisher – Sphere

Rating 4.5/5

The words “a love story like no other” are written on this book, and it is exactly that!

Evie Snow quietly passes away whilst surrounded by her family. As Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven she is greeted with a problem. She has somehow become her twenty-seven-year-old self and the door to her apartment will not open. The only way she can pass through her door is by making her soul light enough. To do this she must share her secrets, secrets she has kept to herself for over fifty years.

This book is outstanding. It didn’t capture me right away but as I read more and more I got caught up into a story that I did no want to end. The characters in this book are extremely likeable. As a reader you are drawn into this magical world of secrets and mysteries you want to know the answer to. You are left guessing throughout the book as to what is going to happen which I think is brilliant.

The only thing I struggled with in this book is its chapter form. We flip between past-life and present-life Evie which confused me at first. It is a form I am not familiar with and therefore struggled with it. But as the book went on I got used to its form and quite enjoyed it.IMG_1637.JPG

I can’t write this review without mentioning that author Carrie Hope Fletcher. This is the first novel that she has written and a brilliant first novel at that. Carrie is a huge inspiration to me as she is to many other teenagers, which I feel shows through this novel. Evie Snow has hints of Carrie showing throughout and makes Evie a very inspirational character.

Overall, this book is astonishing. Once you get into it you will not want to put it down. It will leave a lasting impression on you for sure. This womens fiction/ young adult book is one you should definitely give a read.

If you enjoyed this review please like it, share it and follow my bog for most reviews like this. Also if you have read this book yourself be sure to share your thoughts in the comments below.

Find me on twitter @loisreadsbooks and on Goodreads here.

10 thoughts on “Book Review: On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

  1. This book sounds good and I’m glad to hear that you’ve enjoyed it! I was a bit hesitant because I’m not too sure about the structure, but I do like some kind of ~afterlife~ theme in my books. Did you like the ending?

    Like

    1. The ending to this book is one of the best of any book I’ve read recently. Don’t be put off by the structure, although it sounds odd it does fit well and you get used to it rather quickly! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

