Books · Tag · Top 5 Wednesday · Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite First Sentences

1.png

This is my first top 5 Wednesday post and I think it is a brilliant topic to start on.

Top 5 Wednesday is a challenge tag hosted by Lainey from Gingerreadslainey on Youtube and Sam from Thoughtsontomes on Youtube. Find them and the Goodreads challenge group links below:

Lainey on Youtube

Sam on Youtube

Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group

Without further ado, this weeks topic is favourite first sentences.

Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite First Sentences

The first sentence of any book is meant to captivate tou and draw you into a whole new world. I believe that this is exactly what these first sentences do.

  1. On the Other Side by Carrie Hope FletcherIMG_1638

“Steady lights flickered across her closed eyes, and in her ears she could hear the rhythmic hum and rattle on its tracks.”

This first sentence leaves you asking a lot of questions. Who, what, why, when and where. It captivated me instantly and left me wanting to know more. This book has ended up being one of my favourite books of 2016.

2. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow RowellIMG_1683

“He’d stopped trying to bring her back.”

Again this first sentence leaves you asking a lot of questions. When I read this I instantly wanted to know who she was and why he wanted to “her” back. This sentence drew me in and within a day the book was finished. This book is very close to my heart and I have read it multiple times.

IMG_16823. We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

“Welcome to the beautiful Sinclair family, no one is a criminal, no one is an addict, no one is a failure.”

Instantly this introduces you and gives you an insight to the Sinclair family. All within just one sentence. This book ends up being beautifully written with a magnificent story. I think that this first sentence shows what is to come for the “beautiful Sinclairs”

4. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky IMG_1681

“Dear friend, I am writing to you because she said you listen and understand and didn’t try to sleep with that person at that party even though you could have.”

This first sentence drawn me in in an unusual way. I felt as though the first few words were directed at me and the character was confinding in me. This is how you feel throughout the book and I think it is an interesting concept. I love this book, I have recommended it to so many of my friends and now I am recommending it to you.

5. Extraordinary Means by Robyn SchneiderIMG_1680.JPG

“My first night at Latham House, I lay awake in my narrow, gabled room in Cottage 6 wondering how many people had died in it.”

This sparked so many questions for me which drew my into this books world. Why have people died in the room that he is in? It is a brilliantly written first sentence as you imagine yourself led in this narrow, gabled room in which people have passed away in. This story is written by one of my favourite authors which I throughly enjoyed.

So there you have it. My first ever top 5 Wednesday.

Tell me below what your favourite first sentence is.

Find me on twitter @loisreadsbooks and on Goodreads here.

3 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday – Favourite First Sentences

Leave a Reply

