Book review · Books · Review · Uncategorized

Book Review: Room by Emma Donoghue

Room by Emma Donoghue2

Pages – 402

Released – July 2016

Publisher – Picador

Genres – Fiction, Contemporary and Adult Fiction

Rating – 5/5

Four old walls, one skylight, one locked door. This is all that Jack aged 5 and his Ma see everyday. This heart-wrenching, disturbing and emotional story is narrated by Jack and starts on his fifth birthday. He shares “Room” with his Ma and considers every object in “Room” his friend, like “Rug” and “Plant”. Jack and Ma spend everyday doing their chores and playing games such as scream, where they scream as loudly as they can. Jack loves his Ma and Room, but he is scared of Old Nick who comes to Room some nights and stays with his Ma in bed whilst Jack sleeps in “Wardrobe”.

This book instantly became my favourite book the minute I finished reading it. A lot of people probably would not like the idea of a story narrated by a five year old due to it potentially sounding childish. But Emma Donoghue doesn’t make you feel like this, instead, she uses a five year olds perspective to tell such a deep story in a different perspective that most books would and it works out spectacularly.

Jack is such an inspirational little boy. He faces so many challenges throughout the book, challenges that would make me at 18 terrified. But Jack gets on with them showing how strong a character he is. Ma again is an inspirational character. She has had to deal with so many things. Giving birth to a child on her own in a small room, being just one of them. The events in this book left me constantly on edge which made me not want to stop reading.

Having finished the book I was left wanting to read more of Emma Donoghue’s novels and I cannot wait to read her newest book “The Wonder.” She is such a beautiful writer who tells such an upsetting story in such a way that you leave it feeling different about the world than you did before.

When I began reading this book I hadn’t realised it was inspired by the shocking events of Josef Fritzl. Once I discovered that it was I could see how it had been inspired by those events. I would highly recommend this book to most people. I have passed my copy to my family because of how it left me feeling and I wanted to see if they were left feeling the same way. They were.

There is a quote on the back of my copy from Audrey Niffenegger, the author of The Time Traveler’s Wife. “When it’s over, you look up: the world looks the same but you are somehow different and that feeling lingers for days.” I couldn’t agree with this more, I really did have a feeling I couldn’t describe in words about the world after finishing this book.

Overall, I would highly recommend this book, to adults and young adults. Emma Donoghue tells this story beautifully and you will not be left feeling disappointed.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

13 thoughts on “Book Review: Room by Emma Donoghue

Leave a Reply

