Books · Tag · Uncategorized

The Book Courtship Tag

Screen Shot 2016-09-11 at 23.07.14.png

Hey guys, time for another tag! This time it is the book courtship tag!

Thank you to Reg @ Shelatitude for tagging me! Reg has an amazing blog, go and check it out and follow her!

Phase 1 – Initial Attraction

 A book that you bought because of the cover.

51hhcqypc3l-_sx324_bo1204203200_

The Girl of the Ink and Stars by Kiran Millwood Hargrave

“Forbidden to leave her island, Isabella dreams of the faraway lands her cartographer father once mapped. When her friend disappears, she volunteers to guide the search. The world beyond the walls is a monster-filled wasteland – and beneath the dry rivers and smoking mountains, a fire demon is stirring from its sleep. Soon, following her map, her heart and an ancient myth, Isabella discovers the true end of her journey: to save the island itself. “

Look at that cover! It is so beautiful yet simple. I had to have this book as soon as I saw it, I later read the synopsis and loved it even more! I cannot wait to read this book.

Phase 2 – First Impressions

A book that you got because of the summary.

2

Room by Emma Donoghue

“Jack is five. He lives with his Ma. They live in a single, locked room. They don’t have the key.

Jack and Ma are prisoners.”

That summary tell you so little but makes you ask so much! It is a short summary that leaves you guessing. I am so glad I picked up this book it is my favourite book now. You should really give it a read.

Phase 3 – Sweet Talk

A book with great writing.

1

Faceless by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

“When Maisie is struck by lightning, her face is partially destroyed. She’s lucky enough to get a face transplant, but how do you live your life when you can’t even recognize yourself anymore? She was a runner, a girlfriend, a good student …a normal girl. Now, after a single freak accident, all that has changed. As Maisie discovers how much her looks did and didn’t shape her relationship to the world, she has to redefine her own identity, and figure out what ‘lucky’ really means.”

The writing in this book is beyond beautiful! It is brilliant for the story it tells and the way it is written. A splendid read!

Phase 4 – First Date

A first book of a series which made you want to pick up the rest of the series.

51vuchdzq-l-_sx331_bo1204203200_

The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

“After the1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now is the dawn of the 5th wave

On a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs.
Runs from the beings that only look human, who have scattered Earth’s last survivors.

To stay alone is to stay alive, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan may be her only hope.

Now Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death.”

I love this series. Within just chapters of the first book I couldn’t wait to read the second book and see where this series went. It is a brilliant series and I would highly reccomend.

Phase 5 – Late Night Phone Calls

A book that kept you up all night.

The_Fault_in_Our_Stars

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.”

This book got me back into reading after a huge reading slump. It’s story kept me up all night with a huge mix of emotions I want to finish the book and find out what happened. The book gives you a huge range of emotions but I love it.

Phase 6 – Always on My Mind

A book you could not stop thinking about.

3c

Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

“When he’s sent to Latham House, a boarding school for sick teens, Lane thinks his life may as well be over.
But when he meets Sadie and her friends – a group of eccentric troublemakers – he realises that maybe getting sick is just the beginning. That illness doesn’t have to define you, and that falling in love is its own cure.”

This book left me thinking about so many things. The topics this book involves made me think how I would act if that happened to me. How they would affect me and so much more. I still think about its topics quite often too.

Phase 7 – Getting Physical

A book you love because of the way it feels.

I can’t just pick one book for this! I love all books. I recently love books with matte covers. But books these days are so pretty and feel amazing. Also new book smell is the best smell in the world. Can someone make that into a candle please?

Phase 8 – Meeting the Parents

A book which you would recommend to your family and friends.

This question is difficult because many of my friends like different genres to me and my family are the same. Everyone is different. I recommend books to people based on the genres they are fans of.

For example, I recommended Room to my Mum and younger sister because it is a genre of book they both read and they both loved it. My boyfriend is more into dystopian books and fantasy books, so I recommend him the author Joe Donnelly.

Phase 9 – Thinking About the Future

A book or series you know you will re-read many times in the future.

I re-read a small selection of books. For example I am currently re-reading the Harry Potter Series because of how much it means to me. I am listening to the audiobook of Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell because of how much I love that book. I guess if I ever feel like suddenly re-reading a book or book series I will do that.

Phase 10 – Share the Love

Who do you tag?

Crystal @ Lostnagoodbook

Shealea @ Thatbookshelfbitch

Zainab @ Teenbooklit101

Mreadsbooks

Giovanna @ Bookcomablog

Feel free to skip this tag or link me to it if you’ve done it guys! And have an amazing week!

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

Happy reading

 

5 thoughts on “The Book Courtship Tag

  1. Thanks for doing the tag, Lois! I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed Room – I only watched the movie and thought the premise was intriguing (and terrifying, considering how easily it happens).

    After seeing Rainbow Rowell at a writer’s festival recently I’ve been wanting to reread her works too! I’m starting with Fangirl, though. ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

