Book review · Books · Review · Uncategorized

Audio book Review: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Audio book Review.png

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Length – 9 hours

Released – 27th March 2014

Publisher –  Orion Publishing Co

Narrated by – Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra

Genres – Young adult, coming-of-age, romance and contemporary

Rating – 4.5/5

Eleanor is the newest girl in town and has never felt more alone. She sticks out like a sore thumb, with her big red hair, mismatched clothes and messy home life.On her first day at her new school she sits next to Park on the bus. Park is quiet, careful and in Eleanor’s eyes very cool, Park has worked out that flying under the radar is the best way to get by. Slowly but steadily through a growing pile of mix-tapes and comics, late-night conversations and many bus journeys, Eleanor and Park fall in love.

I adored this audio book. It is the first one I have ever fully listened too and I loved it. Eleanor and Park is one of my favourite books and has been for many years so when I had the opportunity to listen to the audio book I jumped at the chance.

In my head I had always wondered what Eleanor and Park would sound like. This audio book brings them to life. Rebecca Lowman really brings Eleanor to life. She narrates her character beautifully. Through all of the problems Eleanor has to go through, Rebecca really shows the emotions you think Eleanor would be feeling through her voice. Sunil Malhotra also brings Park to life. His voice is exactly how I imagined Park to sound. Sunil also shows all the emotions that you think Park would be feeling through his voice.

This book is incredible just as a physical copy of a book. Bringing it to audio book for me made it even better. The only thing I wish the audio book had done, would be to bring in different narrators for the secondary characters in the book. But still this audio book is amazing.

From a beautifully written book by Rainbow Rowell to an extraordinary audio book narrated by Rebecca Lowman and Sunil Malhotra. I really enjoyed this audio book and would recommend it to young adult book readers. If you want to listen to a beautiful book brought to life, pick this.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

 

 

 

10 thoughts on “Audio book Review: Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

  1. Hi Lois! I just discovered your blog and I’m so happy I did! I’m a fellow 18-year-old blogger over at gwenkatelibrary.wordpress.com. I love what you’ve done with your blog (your graphics are lovely)! Although personally I prefer fantasy to contemporary fiction, I always try to broaden my reading, and listened to the audiobooks of both Eleanor and Park and Fangirl. I ADORED Fangirl (also Carry On)!
    Great review and great to “meet” you! ~Gwen

    Like

    1. Hi Gwen! Thank you! I will head over to your blog as soon as I post this comment! Thank you that took me ages to make! I think I should broaden mine to fantasy really and other things too! Is fangirl a good audio book then? Thank you and great to “meet” you! – Lois

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

