Book review · Books · Top 5 · Top 5 Wednesday · Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Inaccurate Book Covers

1

Hi all, hope you are doing well. I’m really sorry that I haven’t done a top 5 Wednesday in a long time but I am back on schedule now. Here we go with this weeks top 5 wednesday, inaccurate book covers.

Top 5 Wednesday is a challenge tag hosted by Lainey from Gingerreadslainey on Youtube and Sam from Thoughtsontomes on Youtube. Find them and the Goodreads challenge group links below:

Lainey on Youtube

Sam on Youtube

Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group

Without further ado, here are my top 5 inaccurate book covers.

1. The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

the-girl-on-the-train

Now this isn’t the cover itself that is inaccurate. It is the quote on the book cover. Many people love this book and it has been called the best book of 2015. I read this book and didn’t find it “gripping, enthralling” or “a top-notch thriller”. I really did not like this book, the story did not captivate me at all. So I think the quote on this book is very inaccurate.

2. The Wrath of Mulgarath (The Spiderwick Chronicles. #5) by Holly Black

Book5Cover.jpg

This isn’t a hugely inaccurate book cover. But for me Mulgarath in my mind looks slightly different than he does on the cover. The illustrations in this book are beautiful but I just imagined Mulgarath looking slightly different than he does on this cover.

3. Local Girl Missing by Clare Douglas

images.jpeg

This book is based all around a pier. But the book cover shows some flowers on the edge of a cliff. My Grandma pointed this book out to me because she says that the book cover is in the completely wrong location as to the location in the film.

4. The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time by Mark Haddon

9781782953463

This book has a few different covers. But this cover in particular I don’t think this cover is accurate. This is because the dog and how it dies is n the first page of the book and plays a huge part. This cover makes it seem like the Dog is ran over when it is not.

5. 13 Minutes by Sarah Pinborough

518oaiouxyl-_sy344_bo1204203200_

I think that this book cover is inaccurate because of the picture of the girl actually on the cover. The girl oh this cover is meant to be the main character in the book. In my head the way the character is described doesn’t look like the one that is on this cover.

There you have it, this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, inaccurate book covers. This weeks topic was really hard I think. Trying to find covers that don’t fit the book turned out harder than it seems. Comment below books that you think have inaccurate covers.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

One thought on “Top 5 Wednesday: Inaccurate Book Covers

Leave a Reply

