Book review · Books · Tag · Uncategorized

The New York Times ‘By the Book’ Tag

Screen Shot 2016-10-13 at 20.55.18.png

I wanted to get this tag done as soon as I could because of how interesting it was. The New York Times ‘By the Book’ tag was created by Marie Berg on YouTube, and I was tagged by Reg @ Shelatitude, go and check her blog out she is lovely and is always posting.

What book is on your nightstand now?

51vpagSvAYL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg

 

 

Currently I have Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff, on my nightstand. I love it at the minute and I’m only about 50 pages in. But as well as that I have my kindle that always sits there. A non-book item that is on my nightstand is a little Hagrid figure.

 

 

What was the last truly great book you’ve read?

4“Evie Snow is eighty-two when she quietly passes away in her sleep, surrounded by her children and grandchildren. It’s the way most people wish to leave the world but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she’s become her twenty-seven-year-old self and the door won’t open.

Evie’s soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making her soul heavy. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets that have weighed her down for over fifty years, so she must find a way to reveal them before it’s too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever thought possible, and somehow , some way, she may also find her way back to her long lost love . . .”

I would have to say On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher, ReviewI gave this book 4.5/5 stars. It really captured me and make me think about things I wouldn’t have thought about before. I fell in love with the book and have past it on to a lot of my family to read as well.

If you could meet any writer – dead or alive – who would it be? And what would you want to know?

I would love to meet all the authors whose books I have read. But if I had to meet just one, I would have to say the late Roald Dahl. I have loved his books every since I was a child and he was one of the first authors that got me into reading. I would want to know how he thought of such imaginative worlds for the stories that he wrote.

What books might we be surprised to find on your shelf?

18632010I have quite a few philosophical books on my shelf. This is because I studied philosophy in one of my a-levels. One of these is Life Lessons from Freud by Brett Kahr. I really enjoyed this book. To learn about Freud work and the philosophy that Freud had.

Sigmund Freud is best known as the father of psychoanalysis. Born in 1856, he was a physiologist, medical doctor and psychologist who spent most of his life in Vienna, Austria. He developed revolutionary ideas about the unconscious mind, repression and the meaning of dreams and the clinical method of treatment through dialogue. Here you will find insights from his greatest works.”

How do you organize your personal library?

I don’t actually have a book shelf. I have wanted one for years but my room isn’t big enough to put a book shelf in. So instead by books are organised in the set of drawers I have. About 3 of my drawers have all my books in. They aren’t organised in anyway because there isn’t enough room. But if I did have book shelves I would organise it in alphabetical order.

What book have you always meant to read and haven’t gotten around to yet?

2bThis would have to be The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern. I have been meaning to read this book for over a year now. I was given it by a friend after her telling me it was her favourite book.  I will get round to reading this eventually because I really do want to.

“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not. The black sign, painted in white letters that hangs upon the gates, reads:
Opens at Nightfall, Closes at Dawn
As the sun disappears beyond the horizon, all over the tents small lights begin to flicker, as though the entirety of the circus is covered in particularly bright fireflies. When the tents are all aglow, sparkling against the night sky, the sign appears.
Le Cirque des Rêves
The Circus of Dreams.”

Disappointing, overrated, just not good: what book did you feel you are supposed to like but didn’t?

the-girl-on-the-train

 

I was told by so many people that I would really love The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. But I really did not. I feel that this book is really overrated and disappointing. I was expecting the story to be thrilling right from the off. It really wasn’t even 250 pages into the 350 page book it wasn’t thrilling. I just really didn’t like this book.

 

What kind of stories are you drawn to? Any you stay clear of?

Generally, I am drawn to…

  • Young adult contemporary books that has heart
  • Dystopian novels, typically with an apocalyptic setting
  • Books that are based around hard-hitting topics, i.e grief, coming out, mental health issues. I think it helps reduce the stigma around these topics
  • Occassionally I like mystery novels and horror novels.

…and I stay clear of:

  • Historical novels, especially set in the victorian era
  • Pure erotica because quite simply sex scenes in books makes me feel uncomfortable
  • Books whose authors have a reputation of being sexist, ignorant, homophobic, transphobic and all of the things that go against what I believe.

If you could require the president to read one book, what would it be?

2

I would have to say Room by Emma Donoghue. I think this would open his mind to different problems going on in the world. The problems this book tackles are troubling ones and I just think that it would be a book to make the president think.

“Jack is five. He lives with his Ma. They live in a single, locked room. They don’t have the key.

Jack and Ma are prisoners.”

 

 

What do you plan to read next?

I don’t have anything specific planned on reading next. I’ll make that decision when I get there.

I tag:

And anyone else who wants to take part in this tag.

 Thank you so much to Reg for tagging me in this. I have really enjoyed doing it.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

7 thoughts on “The New York Times ‘By the Book’ Tag

  1. Ahh, Illuminae! I haven’t read that yet and I’m not sure I ever will – the hype is crazy, haha. I’ve heard great things about On the Other Side too, good to hear that you loved it.

    Roald Dahl made my childhood, along with Enid Blyton. 💕

    Like

Leave a Reply

