Book review · Books · Tag · Uncategorized

The Inside Out Book Tag

Screen Shot 2016-10-21 at 10.09.06.png

Hey all, I have had one of the worst weekends in my life. I was going to write a blog post last night and opened my macbook to see that somehow the screen had broken. I am writing this on my boyfriend’s laptop which he kindly let me borrow. finding my laptop broken set off a huge anxiety attack, which I am still in. I am sat here panicking myself and not coping well with everything.

I saw this tag on Reg @ Shelatitude‘s blog. I was not tagged in it but I felt as though I should do it today because of how my emotions are.

A book that brings you joy

hpatgof I would have to say the Harry Potter Series. Not one of the books in particular but I know that if I am in a bad mood and pick up a Harry Potter book and emerge myself in the world of Harry Potter I am bought joy.

“Harry Potter has never even heard of Hogwarts when the letters start dropping on the doormat at number four, Privet Drive. Addressed in green ink on yellowish parchment with a purple seal, they are swiftly confiscated by his grisly aunt and uncle. Then, on Harry’s eleventh birthday, a great beetle-eyed giant of a man called Rubeus Hagrid bursts in with some astonishing news: Harry Potter is a wizard, and he has a place at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. An incredible adventure is about to begin!”

A book that brings you sadness

The_Fault_in_Our_StarsI know how cliche this is but I would have to say The Fault in our Stars by John Green. I will never forget the day I read this book and sat in my bedroom in a puddle of tears. Then it happened again when I went to see the film. It is just a very sad book and made me cry a lot.

“”I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly, then all at once.”Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.”

A book that brings you fear

1This would have to be Faceless by Alyssa B. Sheinmel. This book brings me a fear that I should have when reading this book. This is the fear that one day I will wake up and lose my face. My entire family and friends will look at me different. More specifically my boyfriend David would want to leave me, because that would simply destroy me.

When Maisie is struck by lightning, her face is partially destroyed. She’s lucky enough to get a face transplant, but how do you live your life when you can’t even recognize yourself any more? She was a runner, a girlfriend, a good student … a normal girl. Now, after a single freak accident, all that has changed. As Maisie discovers how much her looks did and didn’t shape her relationship to the world, she has to redefine her own identity, and figure out what ‘lucky’ really means.”

Review

A book that brings you anger

the-girl-on-the-train

This book brings me a lot of anger. I hate this book so much. It was meant to be amazing and the best read of 2015 and I have never been more disappointed with a book in my life. I just wish it had more action and more thrill.

“Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens. Sheâes even started to feel like she knows the people who live in one of the houses. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life as she sees it is perfect. If only Rachel could be that happy. And then she sees something shocking. Itâes only a minute until the train moves on, but itâes enough. Now everythingâes changed. Now Rachel has a chance to become a part of the lives sheâes only watched from afar.”

A book that brings you disgust

2 I would have to say Room by Emma Donoghue. Now this isn’t in a bad way at all. It is disgust at the fact people could treat someone in a way that the people in Room are treated. This is a beautiful book that disgusts me about the way people can be treated.

“Jack’s birthday, and he’s excited about turning five. Jack lives with his Ma in Room, which has a locked door and a skylight, and measures 11 feet by 11 feet. He loves watching TV, and the cartoon characters he calls friends, but he knows that nothing he sees on screen is truly real – only him, Ma and the things in Room. Until the day Ma admits that there’s a world outside.”

Review

 

 There you have it the Inside Out Book Tag. I tag anyone in this that hasn’t been tagged in this before. I enjoyed doing this post as it took my mind off things for a while.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

One thought on “The Inside Out Book Tag

Leave a Reply

