Book review · Books · Review · Uncategorized

Author Interview: Queen Anoshi

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 23.19.39.png

Hey all, this is quite exciting. I have always wanted to interview an author and I have finally done it and this is what this post is all about. This post is going to be my interview with the author Queen Anoshi. I recently read her book Her Shifter’s Future and after getting the offer to interview the author I had to take it. You can find my review for Her Shifter’s Future here.

1e4e425ecc3cbaa6b6e623c96bf4e6bd.jpegQueen Anoshi is a native of Beaufort, S.C. She was born with the gift of making up stories on a whim.  She started writing poetry as a young child which was her outlet in conquering different adversities in her life.  It wasn’t until her service in the Army and her first deployment to Bosnia that she began writing short stories as a way to pass-time away.  She felt her writings could take her to a different time and place and that she could become and do anything that her mind could conceive.

So here we go here is my interview with Queen Anoshi. I hope you enjoy.

 

Screen Shot 2016-10-24 at 23.09.08.png

When did you discover that you had the ability to write stories and poems?

Anoshi: I was in elementary when I first discovered I could make up stories, not in writing but I would sit down and just tell a story and it was so believable that people had to ask my parents if it was true.  I started writing poetry in high school and they would be figured in the high school newspaper.  During the military I started writing short stories and that’s where my love for it really began.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

The concept behind Her Shifter’s Future is one that I have never come across before. What gave you the idea to write a story about a ‘futurivoyant’?

It is a term that I made up for this particular book, because I wanted to Tomia to have a gift that was different from any other paranormal writings that have ever been done.  That term is unique to my writings only and is what will make it stand out.  Every book that I write has a positive message in it.  And that term is to highlight the positive aspect between all characters.  A futurivoyant is a changer of life and I wanted that to be a driving force in this book.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

Your books contain a lot of romance. Do you think romance is a big part of all stories that are told?

I love romance, I am a lover of love.  So yes, it is the greatest part of my writings because I don’t think there is enough love in the world.  I just want to keep hope that in a world of total chaos love with be the one thing that changes it all.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

You have said before that stories cannot be written without a piece of the author in them. Why is this?

I call it my ‘Writers Soul’, that part of you that tells you what to write and I think you put a piece of who you are in everything that you do.  Even in fiction you write what you believe in and you write from what is in you.  Your thoughts become a reality building the bridges to different worlds that embraces your personal thoughts and desires.  When you read a book by Anoshi, they are telling you the joy and pains I endure as well as the belief that the universe has a purpose for every heart.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

How long does it usually take to write a story?

My first book took me a whole year to write.  But I don’t rush a story, I take my time and write when the characters speak.  So it’s been taking me around 6-9 months to complete a book.  I also research the areas that I am writing about to make sure that I have some basic knowledge of the territory.  I am not really focused on how many books that I put out a year more than I am focused on being unique in my writings.  I want to be totally different and that does take time.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

Her Shifter’s Future features the FBI and the police system quite heavily. Why did you choose to focus on the FBI?

I wrote about the FBI because I just thought it would be cool to have a totally covert main character that falls for a country girl.  I am also ex military and love writing about discipline and integrity.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

How long does it usually take you to read a book?

It usually takes me about a week to read a book.  I usually read novellas or three books series that are not very long, because after so many pages my attention spans leaves.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

If you were stranded on a desert island and could only take two things with you, what would the two things be?

I would take my daughter and a lighter.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

What is your favourite thing to do in your spare time?

I am with my family in my spare time, going to volleyball games for the 13 year old.  I always do graphic design and publishing when I am not writing.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

Out of all the books you have written, which is your favourite?

My most favorite book I have written is Soul Mates, it set the stage on my writing style and purpose.  And that purpose is to say that love always win in the end.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

What is it that you think makes a good story?

A great protagonist, some sex is always great and the author not being afraid to take a chance on something unusual.  Stepping out of the box and daring to be different.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

As a child, what did you want to be when you grew up?

I wanted to be a lawyer when I grew up, my cousin and I use to always talk about that because we said we would change the world.  But it seems that I found something better than being a Lawyer and that is being a writer because I can create worlds.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

What are your ambitions for your writing career?

My ambitions for my writing career, is to write and entertain people.  To be so inspiring that a reader will hold the finished book to their chest when they are done and recall all the emotions they felt will reading it.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

Where can we buy your books from?

You can purchase my books from my website in both ebook and signed paperback @ www.queenanoshi.com. Createspace estore under Queen Anoshi and I am on amazon.com.  When you purchase from my website or Create space I give 50% of my royalties to help charities.  Right now I am taking 50% and giving it to help Haiti.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

What genres are your books?

I write contemporary romance, paranormal romance and psychological suspense.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

Why are you drawn to writing these genres?

I am drawn to them because first I am a lover of love, and second these are mostly the kinds of books and movies I watch.  Besides historic books.

screen-shot-2016-10-24-at-23-09-08

Thank you for taking the time to answer these questions!

Thank you for having me I appreciate you taking the time to read my writings.

There you have it, my interview with Queen Anoshi! Isn’t she lovely. I am really lucky to get to have done this! Make sure you check out Queen Anoshi and her books. They are brilliant and you can find my review for Her Shifter’s Future here.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

 

2 thoughts on “Author Interview: Queen Anoshi

Leave a Reply

