Book review · Books · Review · Uncategorized

I Met an Astronaut!

Screen Shot 2016-10-27 at 13.32.19.png

Hi all! Something really exciting happened on Tuesday night. I met the astronaut Mike Massimino!

Michael Massimino is an American engineer and former NASA astronaut who is now a professor of mechanical engineering at Columbia University and the senior advisor of space programs at the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum. Massimino is a veteran of two Space Shuttle missions, both of which serviced the Hubble Space Telescope, including the historic final repair mission.

spaceman-9781471149528_lg.jpgMy university course which is Media Production, offers a lot of opportunities for the students to help out at events near by. By help out, I mean filming the event, helping out with the setting up of the event and other little things. When the opportunity was given to film an evening with Mike Massimino, I really wanted to do it! This evening was to promote and sign copies of his book Spaceman: An Astronaut’s Unlikely Journey to Unlock the Secrets of the Universe.

At the event, I filmed the Q and A session with Mike Massimino. At the end of this he came over to me to ask “Who gave you permission to film thing?” This made me panic but I soon realised he was joking. I also sorted out the sound at the event.14618653_1443682422370630_1693983692_o-1

At the end of it all the lady that had run the event Elaine Silverwood came over to me and gave me a copy of Mike Massimino’s book for him to sign for me. I was very happy about this because I got to speak to an astronaut but also got a signed book as well.

When I met Mike Massimino for him to have him sign my book, he asked what I was there to film for and what I was doing with my studies which I thought was pretty awesome. Then I took a picture with him and that was my evening over with.

But I met and filmed an evening with the astronaut Mike Massimino, who has been to space twice and starred in a few episodes of The Big Bang Theory. I really enjoyed doing this and cannot wait to have more opportunities like it!

There you have it, that is my experience meeting an astronaut. This isn’t my usual post but it is book related and I thought it was very exciting. So I hope you enjoyed this.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here

Until next time,happy-reading

One thought on “I Met an Astronaut!

Leave a Reply

