Book Haul · Book review · Books · haul · Review · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

Huge October Book Haul

Screen Shot 2016-11-04 at 14.23.39.png

Hey guys, I didn’t do a book haul in September because believe it or not I didn’t actually buy any books. Well, that completely changed in October. I feel as though I went a little overboard with the book buying. But hear me out. It was my 19th birthday at the beginning of October and my family and friends all know about me and my obsession with books, so I got a few books for my birthday, as well as book tokens to spend. So this book haul, are you ready for this has 21 books in! Lets get into this huge book haul.

IMG_2347.JPG

I’ll start with the books I got for my birthday.

1)  The Christmasaurus by Tom Fletcher

“Forget everything you thought you knew about the North Pole, and set off on a Christma1a.s Eve adventure with boy named William Trundle, an elf named Snozzletrump, Santa Claus (yes! The real Santa Claus!), a nasty piece of work called the Hunter, and a most unusual dinosaur . . .”

14923999_1452064161532456_1058533624_o.jpg

My Mum got me this for my birthday. I have loved McFly since I was 5 so as soon as I knew Tom was writing a novel I wanted it. But not only did my Mum get me the book. She got me a signed copy written personally for me. (Duxbury is my last name and a lot of people use it as a my nickname, hence it being to Duxbury).

2) Holding up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

“Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed ‘America’s Fattest Teen’. But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to see who she really is. Since her mum’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for EVERY POSSIBILITY LIFE HAS TO OFFER.1b

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the art of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he14959150_1453648104707395_754688418_o can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his own brain. So he tells himself to play it cool.

Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game which lands them in group counseling, Libby and Jack are both angry, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world – theirs and yours.”

I have been excited about this book for a long time. So when I got this for my birthday I was ecstatic. I also got a signed copy of this book for my birthday which made me even happier because I love Jennifer Niven.

3) The Art of Finding Dory by John Lasseter

“What can Dory remember? Who are her parents? In Finding Dory, Pixar Animation Studios sets out to answer these questions, to the delight of Finding Nemo fans. The Art oThe_Art_of_Finding_Dory.pngf Finding Dory offers a look at the creative process behind the making of this much-anticipated sequel, shining a light on the many inspiring and beautiful layers of creation the artists at the studio explored during years of development.”

This is a different book for me. But I saw it in a local bookshop and fell in love. Finding Dory is one of my favourite films and I adore animation. So as soon as I saw this book I wanted to know more about the film and the detail that went into it all. My Grandma and Grandad then surprised me with this book on my birthday and I was lost for words.

4) 1001 Tv Series You Must Watch Before You Die by Paul Condon and Steven Moffat

9781743365144.jpg“This is the ultimate book for the Netflix and boxset generation, featuring all the greatest drama series ever broadcast as well as the weirdest game shows, controversial reality TV experiments and breathtaking nature documentaries.”

Being a media production student this book is perfect for me. It is both research into Tv series but at the same time entertainment (mostly entertainment). My Grandma and Grandad again surprised me with this book on my birthday, after they saw me looking at it in a media musemn.

5) The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman6Xs7P9gVJd4C.jpeg

“When a baby escapes a murderer intent on killing the entire family, who would have thought it would find safety and security in the local graveyard? 

Brought up by the resident ghosts, ghouls and spectres, Bod has an eccentric childhood learning about life from the dead. But for Bod there is also the danger of the murderer still looking for him – after all, he is the last remaining member of the family.”

I heard and saw a lot of people praising this book so I thought I would give it a look. So I bought it was one of my book gift voucher.

6) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Perculiar Children by Ransom Riggsmissperegrine_334x518

“A mysterious island.


 
An abandoned orphanage.


 
A strange collection of very curious photographs.

”

I have heard a lot of mixed reviews about this book but I thought I would give it a try. So I bought it with my book gift voucher.

7) Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

“The year is 2575 and two mega-corporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an 51PU+wgixKL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgice covered speck.  Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it.  With enemy fire raining down on them Ezra and Kady have to make their escape on the evacuating fleet.  But their troubles are just beginning.  A deadly plague has broken out on one of the space ships and it is mutating with terrifying results.  Their ships protection is seriously flawed.   No one will say what is going on. 

As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth its clear only one person can help her. Ezra. And the only problem with that is they split up before all this trouble started and she isn’t supposed to be talking to him.”

I have wanted this book for a long long time. So as soon as I saw it on my birthday I had to buy it with my book gift voucher.

8) Flawed by Cecila Ahern

“Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her 51A8jemEgDL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgclassmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED.”

I hadn’t even heard of this book until my birthday. One of my family friends had been reading and thought that it would be a perfect book for me so that was her present to me. That made me very happy.

They were all the book that I got for my birthday. As you can see I got a lot of books. But I bought even more in October and I am going to have to limit myself on buying books this month. 

Here are the books I bought in October.

9) Coraline by Neil Gaiman

“There is something strange about Coraline’s new home. It’s not the mist, or the cat that always 5168ncdzosl-_sx322_bo1204203200_seems to be watching her, nor the signs of danger that Miss Spink and Miss Forcible, her new neighbours, read in the tea leaves. It’s the other house – the one behind the old door in the drawing room. Another mother and father with black-button eyes and papery skin are waiting for Coraline to join them there. And they want her to stay with them. For ever. She knows that if she ventures through that door, she may never come back.”

I absolutely love the film Coraline, so I thought I would check out the book. Especially having heard such good things about the author Neil Gaiman.

10) Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

5189vFu41EL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg“Sephy is a Cross – a member of the dark-skinned ruling class. Callum is a nought – a ‘colourless’ member of the underclass who were once slaves to the Crosses. The two have been friends since early childhood. But that’s as far as it can go. Until the first steps are taken towards more social equality and a limited number of Noughts are allowed into Cross schools… Against a background of prejudice and distrust, intensely highlighted by violent terrorist activity by Noughts, a romance builds between Sephy and Callum – a romance that is to lead both of them into terrible danger…”

My little sister told me about this book. She had to read it in her English class last year. She knows what type of books I enjoy and told me this would be something I would read quickly and enjoy.

11)  Forrest Gump by Winston Groom

“No one is spared and everyone is included. If you’ve ever felt lacking, left out, put upon – or just 51iygnrt31l-_sx316_bo1204203200_wanted to have a rollicking good time – this book is for you. At 6’6″, 240 pounds, Forrest Gump is a difficult man to ignore, so follow Forrest from the football dynasties of Bear Bryant to the Vietnam War, from encounters with Presidents Johnson and Nixon to powwows with Chairman Mao. Go with Forrest to Harvard University, to a Hollywood movie set, on a professional wrestling tour, and into space on the oddest NASA mission ever.”

I had been meaning to buy this book for a long long time. Forrest Gump is one of my all-time favourite films. So I wanted to read the book that made one of my favourite films ever.

12) The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian

“What if your town was sliding underwater and everyone was ordered to pack up and leave? How 41XCP7ZqseL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgwould you and your friends spend your last days together?
    While the adults plan for the future, box up their possessions, and find new places to live, Keeley Hewitt and her friends decide to go out with a bang. There are parties in abandoned houses. Canoe races down Main Street. The goal is to make the most of every minute they still have together.
    And for Keeley, that means taking one last shot at the boy she’s loved forever.
    There’s a weird sort of bravery that comes from knowing there’s nothing left to lose. You might do things you normally wouldn’t. Or say things you shouldn’t. The reward almost always outweighs the risk.
    Almost.
    It’s the end of Aberdeen, but the beginning of Keeley’s first love story. It just might not turn out the way she thought. Because it’s not always clear what’s worth fighting for and what you should let become a memory.”

I saw this book over time in all my local bookshops and decided to pick it up and have a look. The concept of this book really intrigued me and I wanted to buy iy instantly.

13) Cogheart by Peter Bunzl

51DcLgiN0uL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg“Lily’s life is in mortal peril. Her father is missing and now silver-eyed men stalk her through the shadows. What could they want from her?

With her friends – Robert, the clockmaker’s son, and Malkin, her mechanical fox – Lily is plunged into a murky and menacing world. Too soon Lily realizes that those she holds dear may be the very ones to break her heart…”

I saw nothing but praise for this book in my local bookshop. So as soon as I got the chance and read up on the book and went back into the bookshop to buy the book.

61-as-v2nl-_sx309_bo1204203200_

14) The Wonder by Emma Donoghue

“An eleven-year-old girl stops eating, but remains miraculously alive and well. A nurse, sent to investigate whether she is a fraud, meets a journalist hungry for a story.”

Emma Donoghue is one of my favourite authors and I have been excited about this book for months. So as soon as I saw a copy of it in my local bookshop I had to get it.

 

 

51dvtX-9ryL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg15) Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

“Hanna Donnelly is the station captain’s pampered daughter and Nik Malikov is the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. Together they struggle with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, blissfully unaware that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall with news of the Kerenza invasion.”

Now this is the second book in the Illuminae series. I was half way through Illuminae when Gemina was released. I was enjoying Illuminae that much I bought the second book in preparation for when I finished Illuminae.

 

51czccauu4l-_sx311_bo1204203200_

16) Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets by J.K Rowling

“Harry Potter’s summer has included the worst birthday ever, doomy warnings from a house-elf called Dobby, and rescue from the Dursleys by his friend Ron Weasley in a magical flying car! Back at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry for his second year, Harry hears strange whispers echo through empty corridors – and then the attacks start. Students are found as though turned to stone . Dobby’s sinister predictions seem to be coming true.”

Now I already own a copy of this book but I absolutely adore the new covers of the series. So I wanted to buy a few of them this month.

51NzsNx1JNL._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg17) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K Rowling

“When the Knight Bus crashes through the darkness and screeches to a halt in front of him, it’s the start of another far from ordinary year at Hogwarts for Harry Potter. Sirius Black, escaped mass-murderer and follower of Lord Voldemort, is on the run – and they say he is coming after Harry. In his first ever Divination class, Professor Trelawney sees an omen of death in Harry’s tea leaves . But perhaps most terrifying of all are the Dementors patrolling the school grounds, with their soul-sucking kiss.”

Again, I already own a copy of this book but I adore the new covers of the series. I bought this one as well.

51mFUHGTmML._SX311_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg18) Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K Rowling

“The Triwizard Tournament is to be held at Hogwarts. Only wizards who are over seventeen are allowed to enter – but that doesn’t stop Harry dreaming that he will win the competition. Then at Hallowe’en, when the Goblet of Fire makes its selection, Harry is amazed to find his name is one of those that the magical cup picks out. He will face death-defying tasks, dragons and Dark wizards, but with the help of his best friends, Ron and Hermione, he might just make it through – alive!”

Again, I already own a copy of this book but I adore the new covers of the series. I bought this one as well.

19) The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K Rowling

61TzUkclbeL._SX354_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg“An exciting addition to the canon of Harry Potter, the tales reveal the wonderful versatility of the  author, as she tackles with relish the structure and varying tones of a classic fairy tale. There are five tales: ‘The Tale of the Three Brothers’, recounted in Deathly Hallows, plus ‘The Fountain of Fair Fortune’, ‘The Warlock’s Hairy Heart’, ‘The Wizard and the Hopping Pot’, and ‘Babbitty Rabbitty and her Cackling Stump’. Each has its own magical character and will bring delight, laughter and the thrill of mortal peril.”

I have always wanted to read in full The Tales of Beedle the Bard. So when I saw a copy of this in my local bookshop and saw that some of the books proceeds goes towards the charity Lumos I was very happy to buy the book.

Harry_Potter_and_the_Prisoner_of_Azkaban.jpg20) Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban by J.K Rowling

“When the Knight Bus crashes through the darkness and screeches to a halt in front of him, it’s the start of another far from ordinary year at Hogwarts for Harry Potter. Sirius Black, escaped mass-murderer and follower of Lord Voldemort, is on the run – and they say he is coming after Harry. In his first ever Divination class, Professor Trelawney sees an omen of death in Harry’s tea leaves . But perhaps most terrifying of all are the Dementors patrolling the school grounds, with their soul-sucking kiss.”

I don’t have the full set of the orignal copies of the Harry Potter series. So whe I saw they had the orignal Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkban I had to buy it and now I’m only one book off the full set.

21) Spaceman by Mike Massimino

“Mike Massimino’s compelling memoir takes us on a brilliant journey where the nerdiest science spaceman-9781471149528_lgmeets the most thrilling adventure to reveal what ‘the right stuff’ truly is. Many children dream of becoming an astronaut when they grow up, but when NASA rejected him, he kept on trying. Even being told his poor eyesigh would mean he could never make it didn’t stop him; he simply trained his eyes to be better. Finally, at the third time of asking, NASA accepted him.
     So began Massimino’s 18-year career as an astronaut, and the extraordinary lengths he went to to get accepted was only the beginning. In this awe-inspiring memoir, he reveals the hard work, camaraderie and sheer guts involved in the life of an astronaut; he vividly describes what it is like to strap yourself into the Space Shuttle and blast off into space, or the sensation of walking in space, as he did when he embarked on an emergency repair of the Hubble telescope. He also talks movingly about the Columbia tragedy, and how it felt to step into the Space Shuttle again in the aftermath of that disaster.”

I got this book after meeting and filming an Evening with Mike Massimino. When you can read about in my I Met an Astronaut! post. My copy was signed to me by Mike and I am quite excited to read it.

There we have it, we are finally at the end of my huge October book haul. Well done, if you stayed till the end of this because it was extremely long. Let me know if you have read or hope to read any of the books included in this haul. Next months haul shouldn’t be as long at this!

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

 

3 thoughts on “Huge October Book Haul

Leave a Reply

