audio book · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Review · Uncategorized

Audio Book Review: Faceless by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Screen Shot 2016-11-07 at 20.22.34.png

Faceless by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Length – 9 hours and 43 minutes

Released – 1st October 2015

Narrated by – Susan-Kate Heaney

Publisher – Chicken House

Genres – Young Adult, Romance, Contemporary and Coming-of-age

Rating – 5/5

Whilst out running early one morning Maisie is the victim of a terrible accident. Lightening strikes a tree next to her which in turn causes a branch to fall, pulling some electrical wires down with it and resulting in horrific burns on most of Maisie’s body. The left side of her body taking some damage, but her face taking the most. Maisie’s left cheek, nose and most of her chin are destroyed, the tissues so badly damaged they were killed in the fire, a fire that was so hot it burned blue.

I love this book! I read the physical copy of this book at the beginning of the year. You can find my review on the physical copy of this book here.

When I found out that there was an audio book of Faceless I wanted to listen to it as soon as I could. I had high expectations for the audio book. Due to loving the book and the book capturing me completely, I was expecting the same with the audio book. I am pleased to say that the Faceless audio book did not let me down! It brought one of my favourite books of 2016 so far to life!

The story captured me when I was reading the physical book, but hearing it told to you from Maisie’s perspective captured me even more. It also made me feel the emotions that are implanted into this story even more.

I had always wanted to put a voice to Maisie Winters but I haven’t got the best imagination. So audio books are perfect for me. They help me put a voice to a character. Susan-Kate Heaney really brings Maisie Winters to life. She narrates Maisie Winters and her story beautifully. Through all of the problems, challenges and triumphs that Maisie has to go through, Susan-Kate Heaney really shows the emotions of Maisie through her voice.

This book is incredible! Bringing it to audio book for me made it even better. The only thing I wish the audio book had done, would be to bring in different narrators for the secondary characters in the book. I know this would have been quite hardwork and it is all meant to be told by Maisie. I just feel it would have added another dynamic to the audio book. But still it is amazing!

From a beautifully written book by Alyssa B. Sheinmel to an extraordinary audio book narrated by Susan-Kate Heaney. I really enjoyed this audio book and would recommend it to young adult book readers. If you want to listen to a beautiful book brought to life, pick this. Also, if you feel you are facing a lot of challenges in life, pick up this audio book too, because it will help you through your challenges.

Don’t forget to check out my review of the physical copy of Faceless here.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

6 thoughts on “Audio Book Review: Faceless by Alyssa B. Sheinmel

Leave a Reply

