Book Haul · Book review · Books · Review · Tag · Top 10 · Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: Books I have added to my TBR recently!

screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-21-24-42

Hello all and welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday! This weeks topic is books I have added to my TBR recently. A lot of these books will be coming from my Huge October Book Haul so check that out. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted the The Broke and the Bookish.

So without furthur ado, here is this weeks top ten Tuesday, books I have added to my TBR recently!

1)  The Christmasaurus by Tom Fletcher1a.

“Forget everything you thought you knew about the North Pole, and set off on a Christmas Eve adventure with boy named William Trundle, an elf named Snozzletrump, Santa Claus (yes! The real Santa Claus14923999_1452064161532456_1058533624_o.jpg!), a nasty piece of work called the Hunter, and a most unusual dinosaur . . .”

This has recently been added to my TBR after I found out that Tom Fletcher was writing a novel. Tom Fletcher has been a role model for me for over 14 years now. I even have a signed copy of this book which is incredible!

 

2) Holding up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

“Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed ‘America’s Fattest Teen’. But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to see who she really is. Since her mum’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for EVERY POSSIBILITY LIFE HAS TO OFFER.1b

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the art of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he14959150_1453648104707395_754688418_ocan’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his own brain. So he tells himself to play it cool.

Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game which lands them in group counseling, Libby and Jack are both angry, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world – theirs and yours.”

I am currently reading this book, but I only recently added it to my TBR too. So far it is incredible! Again I am lucky enough to have a signed copy of this book.

3) The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman6Xs7P9gVJd4C.jpeg

“When a baby escapes a murderer intent on killing the entire family, who would have thought it would find safety and security in the local graveyard? 

Brought up by the resident ghosts, ghouls and spectres, Bod has an eccentric childhood learning about life from the dead. But for Bod there is also the danger of the murderer still looking for him – after all, he is the last remaining member of the family.”

I heard and saw a lot of people praising this book so I thought I would give it a look. It got added to my ever-growing TBR list.

missperegrine_334x5184) Miss Peregrine’s Home for Perculiar Children by Ransom Riggs

“A mysterious island.


 
An abandoned orphanage.


 
A strange collection of very curious photographs.

”

I have heard a lot of mixed reviews about this book but I thought I would give it a try. So I bought it and I have added it to my TBR list.

 

5) Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

“The year is 2575 and two mega-corporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an 51PU+wgixKL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgice covered speck.  Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it.  With enemy fire raining down on them Ezra and Kady have to make their escape on the evacuating fleet.  But their troubles are just beginning.  A deadly plague has broken out on one of the space ships and it is mutating with terrifying results.  Their ships protection is seriously flawed.   No one will say what is going on. 

As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth its clear only one person can help her. Ezra. And the only problem with that is they split up before all this trouble started and she isn’t supposed to be talking to him.”

I have wanted this book for a long long time. I have read so many good reviews on this book so I had to add it to my TBR.

5168ncdzosl-_sx322_bo1204203200_6) Coraline by Neil Gaiman

“There is something strange about Coraline’s new home. It’s not the mist, or the cat that always seems to be watching her, nor the signs of danger that Miss Spink and Miss Forcible, her new neighbours, read in the tea leaves. It’s the other house – the one behind the old door in the drawing room. Another mother and father with black-button eyes and papery skin are waiting for Coraline to join them there. And they want her to stay with them. For ever. She knows that if she ventures through that door, she may never come back.”

I absolutely love the film Coraline, so I thought I would check out the book. Especially having heard such good things about the author Neil Gaiman. So I recently added this book to my TBR.

7) Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

5189vFu41EL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg“Sephy is a Cross – a member of the dark-skinned ruling class. Callum is a nought – a ‘colourless’ member of the underclass who were once slaves to the Crosses. The two have been friends since early childhood. But that’s as far as it can go. Until the first steps are taken towards more social equality and a limited number of Noughts are allowed into Cross schools… Against a background of prejudice and distrust, intensely highlighted by violent terrorist activity by Noughts, a romance builds between Sephy and Callum – a romance that is to lead both of them into terrible danger…”

My little sister told me about this book. She had to read it in her English class last year. She knows what type of books I enjoy and told me this would be something I would read quickly and enjoy. So after reading up a bit on the book it was quickly added to my TBR.

51iygnrt31l-_sx316_bo1204203200_8)  Forrest Gump by Winston Groom

“No one is spared and everyone is included. If you’ve ever felt lacking, left out, put upon – or just wanted to have a rollicking good time – this book is for you. At 6’6″, 240 pounds, Forrest Gump is a difficult man to ignore, so follow Forrest from the football dynasties of Bear Bryant to the Vietnam War, from encounters with Presidents Johnson and Nixon to powwows with Chairman Mao. Go with Forrest to Harvard University, to a Hollywood movie set, on a professional wrestling tour, and into space on the oddest NASA mission ever.”

I added this book to my TBR not too long ago. Forrest Gump is one of my all-time favourite films. So I wanted to read the book that made one of my favourite films ever.

9) The Last Boy and Girl in the World by Siobhan Vivian

“What if your town was sliding underwater and everyone was ordered to pack up and leave? How 41XCP7ZqseL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgwould you and your friends spend your last days together?
    While the adults plan for the future, box up their possessions, and find new places to live, Keeley Hewitt and her friends decide to go out with a bang. There are parties in abandoned houses. Canoe races down Main Street. The goal is to make the most of every minute they still have together.
    And for Keeley, that means taking one last shot at the boy she’s loved forever.
    There’s a weird sort of bravery that comes from knowing there’s nothing left to lose. You might do things you normally wouldn’t. Or say things you shouldn’t. The reward almost always outweighs the risk.
    Almost.
    It’s the end of Aberdeen, but the beginning of Keeley’s first love story. It just might not turn out the way she thought. Because it’s not always clear what’s worth fighting for and what you should let become a memory.”

I saw this book over time in all my local bookshops and decided to pick it up and have a look. The concept of this book really intrigued me and I wanted to buy it instantly. So this got added to my TBR very quickly.

51dvtX-9ryL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg10) Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

“Hanna Donnelly is the station captain’s pampered daughter and Nik Malikov is the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. Together they struggle with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, blissfully unaware that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall with news of the Kerenza invasion.”

Now this is the second book in the Illuminae series. I was half way through Illuminae when Gemina was released. I was enjoying Illuminae that much I bought the second book in preparation for when I finished Illuminae. So this is another book I recently added to my TBR.

There you have it, my top 10 Tuesday, books I have recently added to my TBR. Let me know in the comments below which books you have added to your TBR recently.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here

Until next time,

happy-reading

One thought on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books I have added to my TBR recently!

Leave a Reply

