audio book · Book review · Books · Review · Uncategorized

Audio Book Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Screen Shot 2016-11-21 at 20.43.26.png

Title: Since You’ve Been Gone (2014)
Author: Morgan Matson
Narrated By: Suzy Jackson

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction
Extent: 12 Hours and 50 Minutes
Publisher: Simon and Schuster and Recorded Books
Release Date: 8th May, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis

Right before what should have been the most amazing summer, Emily’s best friend Sloane suddenly disappears, almost without a trace – the only thing left behind is a to-do list.

On this list is, thirteen Sloane-inspired tasks that wallflower Emily would never normally try let alone do. Most definitely without her best friend. 

But what if completing the list could bring Sloane back?

Review

I had heard so many good things about this book from so many different people. So when my Mum suggested that I downloaded it as an audio book because of how much she had enjoyed it I was quick to do so.

Safe to say, I loved this audio book. It is the first audio book I have listened to having not read the book previously. This really helped with my enjoyed of the book. My full attention was dedicated to it when I was listening, I made sure I knew exactly what was happening.

I went into this book knowing next to nothing about the characters or the narrative. I had read the synopsis, one review of the book and the review that my Mum had given me. I loved the characters in this book. I related to Emily so much; the wallflower who can’t really do much on her own and doesn’t want to come out of her shell. I enjoyed listening to this audio book to learn about Emily and her experiences without her best friend. Emily’s family, her Mum, Dad and Brother were all characters I loved too, each in their own particular ways, which you will understand if you read or listen to this book. I don’t want to give too much away about the other characters in this book, just that you will really like them, as did I.

This book has been skilfully written by Morgan Matson and it is apparent that she has put a lot of thought into her characters, narrative and the issues she puts across. Suzy Jackson’s narration is incredible and really brings Emily’s character to life.

I just wish that the book would have gone into more detail on some of the ‘to-do list’ tasks. I feel as though some of them were vague regarding how they made Emily feel when completing them. As always with audio books, I wish they had had someone else narrate the other characters in this book but I know this would have been a hard task to fulfil.

This is a skilfully written book by Morgan Matson that has been made into an extraordinary audio book narrated by Suzy Jackson. I really enjoyed this audio book and would recommend it to young adult and adult readers.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

3 thoughts on “Audio Book Review: Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Leave a Reply

