Book Haul · Books · Uncategorized

November Book Haul!

Screen Shot 2016-12-05 at 21.06.03.png

Hey guys, I bought quite a few books this month. Nowhere near as much as I did in October! I can’t believe we are already into December! How in the world has that happened?

Without further ado, here we go on the November Book Haul!

IMG_2489.JPG

1) Something in Between by Melissa De La Cruz

28688476Jasmine de los Santos has always done what’s expected of her. Pretty and popular, she’s studied hard, made her Filipino immigrant parents proud and is ready to reap the rewards in the form of a full college scholarship.

And then everything shatters. A national scholar award invitation compels her parents to reveal the truth: their visas expired years ago. Her entire family is illegal. That means no scholarships, maybe no college at all and the very real threat of deportation.

For the first time, Jasmine rebels, trying all those teen things she never had time for in the past. Even as she’s trying to make sense of her new world, it’s turned upside down by Royce Blakely, the charming son of a high-ranking congressman. Jasmine no longer has any idea where—or if—she fits into the American Dream. All she knows is that she’s not giving up. Because when the rules you lived by no longer apply, the only thing to do is make up your own.”

I had heard so many good things about this book. A lot of booktubers that I watch mentioned it and how good it was. So I decided to buy it after reading a few reviews. The cover of this book is so pretty!

Get Something In Between here:

Book Depository

Amazon

51sM4Y4RoXL._SX324_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg2) I’ll Be Home for Christmas by Various Authors

“The UK’s top Young Adult authors join together in this collection of new stories and poems on the theme of home.

A collection of brand-new stories and poetry.”

I saw this book in shops on my birthday but didn’t grab it thinking it was way too early for Christmas books. But I decided to buy it even though at the time it was a month before Christmas just to get a little into the Christmas spirit.

Get I’ll Be Home for Christmas here:

Book Depository

Amazon

9781405277907.jpg3) Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

I’m telling you why we broke up, Ed. I’m writing it in this letter, the whole truth of why it happened.

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.”

I bought this book on a whim. I was out shopping in one of my lunch breaks at uni, when one of my friends said that his girlfriend had read this book and loved it. So I read the synopsis and a quick review and immediately wanted to buy the book.

Get Why We Broke Up here:

Book Depository

Amazon

4) Mosquitoland by David Arnold

9781472218902“When her parents unexpectedly divorce, Mim Malone is dragged from her beloved home in Ohio to the ‘wastelands’ of Mississippi, where she lives in a haze of medication with her dad and new (almost certainly evil) stepmom. But when Mim learns her real mother is ill back home, she escapes her new life and embarks on a rescue mission aboard a Greyhound bus, meeting an assortment of quirky characters along the way. And when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane.”

I had heard about this book for so long but could never find it in any of the book shops near me. So I ordered it instead because the synopsis of this book really interested me. I also love the cover of this book!

Get Mosquitoland here:

Book Depository

Amazon

5) The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

61vhE0U9PpL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_.jpg“Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store – for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?”

I adored Nicola Yoon’s first book Everything Everything so as soon as I heard she was bringing out a new book way back in I was excited. I waited and waited to get this book and the day it was released I was in my local book shop and got the first copy they put out!

Get The Sun is Also a Star here:

Book Depository

Amazon

6) The Diabolic by S.J Kincaid

9781471147142.jpg“A Diabolic is ruthless. A Diabolic is powerful. A Diabolic has a single task: Kill in order to protect the person you’ve been created for. Nemesis is a Diabolic, a humanoid teenager created to protect a galactic senator’s daughter, Sidonia. The two have grown up side by side, but are in no way sisters. Nemesis is expected to give her life for Sidonia, and she would do so gladly. She would also take as many lives as necessary to keep Sidonia safe. When the power-mad Emperor learns Sidonia’s father is participating in a rebellion, he summons Sidonia to the Galactic court. She is to serve as a hostage. Now, there is only one way for Nemesis to protect Sidonia. She must become her. Nemesis travels to the court disguised as Sidonia – a killing machine masquerading in a world of corrupt politicians and two-faced senators’ children. It’s a nest of vipers with threats on every side, but Nemesis must keep her true abilities a secret or risk everything. As the Empire begins to fracture and rebellion looms closer, Nemesis learns there is something more to her than just deadly force. She finds a humanity inside her that is true and pure – more so than that of most humans she encounters. Amidst all the danger, action and intrigue, her humanity just might be the thing that saves her life – and the empire.”

I saw this book on a few booktubers videos and got interested in the plot of the book. I then read up on it more and ordered it as soon as I could. The cover of this book is so interesting yet so beautiful.

Get The Diabolic here:

Book Depository

Amazon

7) Replica by Lauren Oliver

9781473614956“Lyra’s story begins in the Haven Institute, a building tucked away on a private island off the coast of Florida that from a distance looks serene and even beautiful. But up close the locked doors, military guards, and biohazard suits tell a different story. In truth, Haven is a clandestine research facility where thousands of replicas, or human models, are born, raised, and observed. When a surprise attack is launched on Haven, two of its young experimental subjects – Lyra, aka number 24, and the boy known only as 72 – manage to escape. Gemma has been in and out of hospitals for as long as she can remember. A lonely teen, her life is circumscribed by home, school, and her best friend, April. But after she is nearly abducted by a stranger claiming to know her, Gemma starts to investigate her family’s past and discovers her father’s mysterious connection to the secretive Haven Institute. Hungry for answers, she travels to Florida, only to stumble upon two replicas and a completely new set of questions. While the stories of Lyra and Gemma mirror each other, each contains breathtaking revelations critically important to the other story.”

This story has intrigued me for so long now! The fact it is two stories but they link together in many ways. I was meant to buy it on my birthday last month but there weren’t any copies anywhere so I left it. But decided to order it online in November and was very happy when it arrived!

Get Replica here:

Book Depository

Amazon

8) I Was Here by Gayle Forman

51cuwuezzkl-_sx326_bo1204203200_“When her best friend Meg drinks a bottle of industrial-strength cleaner alone in a motel room, Cody is understandably shocked and devastated. She and Meg shared everything so how was there no warning? But when Cody travels to Meg s college town to pack up the belongings left behind, she discovers that there s a lot that Meg never told her. About her old roommates, the sort of people Cody never would have met in her dead-end small town in Washington. About Ben McAllister, the boy with a guitar and a sneer, and some secrets of his own. And about an encrypted computer file that Cody can t open until she does, and suddenly everything Cody thought she knew about her best friend s death gets thrown into question.”

I hadn’t been intending to buy this book at all. But when I was out shopping with my Mum the other week there was a deal in one of the book shops that mean I got this book for free. After reading reviews and the synopsis I was very that I got this book for free.

Get I was Here here:

Book Depository

Amazon

9) Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow

41blxxtbyml-_sx329_bo1204203200_“Charlie Davis is in pieces. At seventeen, she’s already lost more than most people lose in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget it through cutting; the pain washes out the sorrow until there is nothing but calm. She doesn’t have to think about her father or what happened under the bridge. Her best friend, Ellis, who is gone forever. Or the mother who has nothing left to give her. Kicked out of a special treatment center when her insurance runs out, Charlie finds herself in the bright and wild landscape of Tucson, Arizona, where she begins the unthinkable: the long journey of putting herself back together.”

This is another book I have been looking at and reading reviews about for a long time. I searched and searched my local book shops for it and it was no where to be seen. So I bought it online and it was with me the next day. I have been carrying it around with me since I got it because I want to read it so much but never have the time.

Get Girl In Pieces here:

Book Depository

Amazon

There we have it, my November book haul, no where near as long as last month. I bought a lot of my books online this month and a lot from Book Depository. So I decided to become an affiliate. Be sure to check out the site, there is free shipping worldwide on all books and an awful lot of them are sold for discounted rates. Be sure to check it out using my link here: Loisreadsbooks Book Depository

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

One thought on “November Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

