Book Haul · Book review · Review · Tag · Top 10 · Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors

screen-shot-2016-09-11-at-21-24-42

Hello all and welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday! This weeks topic New-To-Me Authors. So these are authors that I found in 2016 and read in 2016. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted the The Broke and the Bookish.

So without further ado, here is this weeks top ten Tuesday, New-To-Me Authors.

181896061) Morgan Matson

I heard a lot of booktubers speak about Morgan Matson over summer. I bought The Unexpected Everything before going on holiday this year with the plan to read it by the pool. But I didn’t get the chance to give it a read. My Mum then read Since You’ve Been Gone and told me to read it as soon as I could. I listened to the audio book instead but loved it. I will definitely be reading more of Morgan Matson in 2017.

Since You’ve Been Gone (Audio Book Review)

42) Carrie Hope Fletcher

I had been meaning to read Carrie’s books for a long time but had never bought them. Right before I went on holiday this year I bought All I Know Now and On the Other Side and read the both by the pool whilst I was away. I loved them both and wanted to read more of Carrie’s books. She released a novella recently Winter’s Snow which is a follow up to On the Other Side I also loved that. So I am excited to see what Carrie releases in 2017 and read more of her books.

On the Other Side (Book Review)

53) Kim Slater

I saw one of Kim Slater’s books on a shelf in my local book shop and had it on my mind for weeks. I went a weekend away with my boyfriend a few weeks later and bought A Seven Letter Word. I read it whilst on holiday and loved it and as soon as I came back from holiday I bought Smart her other novel. I am yet to read this but can’t wait to do so. Kim Slater tweeted me not so long ago after I posted my review on A Seven Letter Word and I was so happy! 

A Seven Letter Word (Book Review)

24) Emma Donoghue

I heard so many good things about Room and was quick to buy it. I am so glad that I did it is one of my favourite books ever. It really changed my out look on life. Her stories are written incredibly. I was quick to buy The Wonder when it was released and will be reading it in 2017. Emma Donoghue is just a fantastic author that I can’t believe it took me this long to find!

Room (Book Review)

5) Alyssa B. Sheinmel

1Alyssa Sheinmel is lovely! I read Faceless right at the beginning of the year and then reread it on holiday and then listened to the audio book. I think you can tell I like this book. I will be sure to read more of her books next year. I was lucky enough to speak to Alyssa just yesterday after she thanked me for the review for Faceless. As you can probably tell I was ecstatic about this. I can’t wait to read more of Alyssa’s work.

Faceless (Book Review)

Faceless (Audio Book Review

86) Nicola Yoon

I read Everything Everything very early on into 2016 and heard about the release of The Sun is Also a Star not too long after. I loved her first novel so of course was excited for the next novel she was set to release. I bought it on its release day and cannot wait to read it. Nicola Yoon is an incredible author and I’m glad I found her in 2016.

3c7) Robyn Schneider

I got Extraordinary Means for Christmas last year and it was the first book I read in 2016. I really enjoyed it. I then searched Robyn Schneider and her books and found out that she had written loads of books. I seemed to forget about her as the year went on but I spotted one of her books in a local book shop just last week. So I will definitely be looking for more of her books next year and giving them a read.

51vuchdzq-l-_sx331_bo1204203200_8) Rick Yancey

I read the first two books in the 5th Wave series by Rick Yancey very early on into the year and loved them. I have yet to read the 3rd book but I am excited to do so. He writes very different books and I love them for sure. I hope that he releases more books next year because I will be sure to buy them. But for now I have The Last Star to read and I am excited to read it in 2017.

9) Dave Johnston

31291641.jpgDave Johnston isn’t a huge author but he is a brilliant author. He released his first book not long after I started my blog and I read and reviewed it as soon as I could and loved it. They aren’t your usual books they take you 60 minutes to read, they are called the 60 Minute Series after all. He released the second book in the series just yesterday. Be sure to check it out! I can’t wait to read it myself!

Atomic Number Sixty (Book Review)

Dave Johnston’s Site

Get the books here!

51rofznopjl-_sy344_bo1204203200_10) E. Lockhart

I had heard quite a few thing about E. Lockhart over the year. I picked up We Were Liars before my holiday as it was short and would be a quick read. I read the entire thing on the 2 hour plan journey to my holiday I couldn’t put it down and I loved it! I will be finding more of E. Lockhart’s books in 2017 and giving them a read. That is for certain.

 

There you have it, my top 10 Tuesday, New-To-Me Authors. I really enjoyed this topic, it gave me more books to read next year.Let me know in the comments what authors are new to you.

Find me on Twitter @Loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here

Until next time,

happy-reading

 

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: New-To-Me Authors

Leave a Reply

