Book Haul · Book review · Books · Review · Top 5 · Top 5 Wednesday · Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Finally Want to Read in 2017

1

Hi all, hope you are doing well. Here we go with this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, books I finally want to read in 2017.

Top 5 Wednesday is a challenge tag hosted by Lainey from Gingerreadslainey on Youtube and Sam from Thoughtsontomes on Youtube. Find them and the Goodreads challenge group links below:

Lainey on Youtube

Sam on Youtube

Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group

Without further ado, here are my top 5 books I finally want to read in 2017.

51puwgixkl-_sx324_bo1204203200_1) Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

“This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.”

I definitely need to read this book in 2017. I feel as though I have missed out this year on all the excitement on this book series. So I want to read it next year just before they bring out the final one in the series.

97814722189022) Mosquitoland by David Arnold

“After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the “wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland.

So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane.”

I only bought this book the other week but I heard so many good things about it. I want to read it next year possibly in the summer. I feel like it would be the perfect book to read in the summer.

2b3) The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern

“The circus arrives without warning. No announcements precede it, no paper notices plastered on lampposts and billboards. It is simply there, when yesterday it was not.

Within these nocturnal black-and-white striped tents awaits an utterly unique, a feast for the senses, where one can get lost in a maze of clouds, meander through a lush garden made of ice, stare in wonderment as the tattooed contortionist folds herself into a small glass box, and become deliciously tipsy from the scents of caramel and cinnamon that waft through the air.

Welcome to Le Cirque des Rêves.”

I have been meaning to read this book for so long now. I keep saying I’ll read in before the end of the year but I know this won’t be happening now. So this time I am going to read it and 2017 and I am gonna hold myself to that.

97814063655664) The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

“What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.”

This book has intrigued me for ages. I bought this book a long time ago because I wanted to read it as soon as it came out. But I got caught up in other books and college and uni work and haven’t had the chance to finish it. So in 2017 I will be reading this book for sure.

funny_story_front5) It’s Kind of a Funny Story by Ned Vizzini

“Ambitious New York City teenager Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life – which means getting into the right high school to get into the right job. But once Craig aces his way into Manhattan’s Executive Pre-Professional High School, the pressure becomes unbearable. He stops eating and sleeping until, one night, he nearly kills himself.

Craig’s suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital, where his new neighbors include a transsexual sex addict, a girl who has scarred her own face with scissors, and the self-elected President Armelio. There, Craig is finally able to confront the sources of his anxiety.”

This is another book I have been meaning to read for a long time. It is one that I forgot I had until a few days ago when I saw it on my shelf. I want to read this book in 2017 because I was so excited to read it when I bought it. 

There you have it, this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, books I finally want to read in 2017. Comment below books you finally want to read in 2017 or would recommend for me to read in 2017.

Find me on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

happy-reading

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I Finally Want to Read in 2017

Leave a Reply

