audio book · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Review · Science · tbr · Uncategorized

What Books Do I Have on Order?

screen-shot-2017-01-27-at-17-15-19

Hey guys, it’s David, I thought I would do a post today, like Lois’ yesterday showing all the books that I currently have on order and I am really excited to read.

So without further ado, here are the books I have on order at the minute:

1) The Essex Serpent by Sarah Perry

9781781255445.jpg“Set in Victorian London and an Essex village in the 1890’s, and enlivened by the debates on scientific and medical discovery which defined the era, The Essex Serpent has at its heart the story of two extraordinary people who fall for each other, but not in the usual way.

 They are Cora Seaborne and Will Ransome. Cora is a well-to-do London widow who moves to the Essex parish of Aldwinter, and Will is the local vicar. They meet as their village is engulfed by rumours that the mythical Essex Serpent, once said to roam the marshes claiming human lives, has returned. Cora, a keen amateur naturalist is enthralled, convinced the beast may be a real undiscovered species. But Will sees his parishioners’ agitation as a moral panic, a deviation from true faith. Although they can agree on absolutely nothing, as the seasons turn around them in this quiet corner of England, they find themselves inexorably drawn together and torn apart.”

 This book really stood out to me when I was looking through lists of popular new releases, as I have a great fascination with cryptozoology and the hinting of an elusive beast triggered my interest. It also suggests to me that their will be a great deal of focus on the theme of religion and science and how these two belief systems clash against one another, which is another area I have a great interest in. The setting in particular is what suggests this to me and towards the end of the 19th century science was becoming much more mainstream, whereas religion, while still prominent, was beginning to enter a period of decline still ongoing today.

2) The Bazaar of Bad Dreams by Stephen King

91xAugkjjsL.jpg“A master storyteller at his best—the O. Henry Prize winner Stephen King delivers a generous collection of stories, several of them brand-new, featuring revelatory autobiographical comments on when, why, and how he came to write (or rewrite) each story.

Since his first collection, Nightshift, published thirty-five years ago, Stephen King has dazzled readers with his genius as a writer of short fiction. In this new collection he assembles, for the first time, recent stories that have never been published in a book. He introduces each with a passage about its origins or his motivations for writing it.”

 I was drawn to this book by the author, as I knew that he was the author of the book The Shining, upon which the famous Stanley Kubrick based his hit film, which also happens to be one of my favourite movies. I was then further enticed by the sound of this book. I love short stories, especially those in the horror genre, but even more so when they contain morals or life lessons, as these are often very powerful sentiments. This book apparently contains themes of regret, guilt and the afterlife, which are all topics I am very interested in. I am really looking forward to this book.

3) His Bloody Project by Graeme Macrae Bunett

His-Bloody-Project.jpg“A brutal triple murder in a remote Scottish farming community in 1869 leads to the arrest of seventeen-year-old Roderick Macrae. There is no question that Macrae committed this terrible act. What would lead such a shy and intelligent boy down this bloody path? Will he hang for his crime?

 Presented as a collection of documents discovered by the author, His Bloody Project opens with a series of police statements taken from the villagers of Culdie, Ross-shire. They offer conflicting impressions of the accused; one interviewee recalls Macrae as a gentle and quiet child, while another details him as evil and wicked. Chief among the papers is Roderick Macrae’s own memoirs, where he outlines the series of events leading up to the murder in eloquent and affectless prose. There follow medical reports, psychological evaluations, a courtroom transcript from the trial, and other documents that throw both Macrae’s motive and his sanity into question. Graeme Macrae Burnet’s multilayered narrative will keep the reader guessing to the very end.”

 A somewhat different book, than I would normally choose to read, as I do not normally read detective stories or crime stories. However, something about this novel grabbed me, possibly the dark sinister overtones I get from the synopsis that this is not just your average murder, but a brutal killing spree carried out by someone possibly insane. It gave me a silence of the lambs” vibe, which can only be good as that is another of my favourite movies. I also have a morbid curiosity regarding serial killers and mass murderers, which make me want to understand why they do what they do and this book, with its unique style, of being written in discovered documents, may be that insight I would like.

There you have it, these are the books that I have on order. Let me know in the comments below any books that you have on order because I am always open to ordering more books! 

Be sure to check it out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @Loisreadsbooks, on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us.

Until next time, 

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

One thought on “What Books Do I Have on Order?

Leave a Reply

