Art · Artwork · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Crafts · DIY · Uncategorized

Dobby Artwork

Screen Shot 2017-01-28 at 18.03.01.png

Hi guys, it’s Lois, I thought I would do a post today to show you all the artwork I have been working on for the past couple of days.

I was given an assignment on Thursday to create what is known as a Vector Portrait. Vector Portraits are a form of digital artwork in which the shapes in the art are represented by mathematical equations within a computer. Geometric shapes like lines, waves, single points and curves are placed together by the artist to create an illustration while the computer keeps track of each item’s location, curve and relative proportion to the other shapes. At first when I was given this task I was taken aback by how complicated it seemed to be and how long it would take to complete just one portrait.

I came home from university yesterday and went searching for an image to do a Vector Portrait of. Of course, because it is Harry Potter Celebration weekend and I have a great love for the series I decided to do a Vector Portrait of Dobby the House Elf.

certeza-dobby-elf-harry-potter-hero-hugo-divo-kk-Favim.com-84358_large.jpg

I started of with the image above and began to look where the colours in the image contrasted. To make sure your vector portrait look as life-like as possible it is best to start with small sections of the image and then build up. In the images below you can see how I built up the image section by section and piece by piece. This definitely takes a lot of time and patience.

screen-shot-2017-01-28-at-16-56-43

After I had completed Dobby’s face which took about 4 hours I began to work on his body, this took just a little less time as there weren’t as many sections of contrast. Below you can see images of me building up Dobby’s body over time. Again, this has taken me a lot of time and patience.

Screen Shot 2017-01-28 at 16.56.57.png

All of the little shapes that you can see over the overall image are made up of tiny little lines and shapes. There are approximately 350 layers and shapes to just this one image so you can see how it take a lot of time to finish. Below is an image showing all of the layers and shapes I had to use to make Dobby look like Dobby.

Screen Shot 2017-01-28 at 17.04.16.png

I decided not to use the background from the original image as it would take the attention away from Dobby himself. So I opted for a gold gradient background for my finished image. Below you can find the finished image. I am actually quite proud of it!

screen-shot-2017-01-28-at-17-07-52

There you have it my Vector Portrait of Dobby the House Elf. I hope you all like it and have liked this post. If you have liked this post and the image let me know in the comments below and I will do some more Vector Portraits because I really enjoyed doing this one!

Make sure you check out my The Making of Harry Potter Studio Tour post as well! 

Also check out my Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them: The Original Screenplay by J.K Rowling Book Review!

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @Loisreadsbooks, on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us.

Until next time, 

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

10 thoughts on “Dobby Artwork

Leave a Reply

