Art · Artwork · Beauty · Books · Crafts · DIY · haul · movie · Review · Tag · tbr · Top 5 · Top 5 Wednesday · Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Current Favourites that Aren’t Books

screen-shot-2017-01-25-at-15-31-26

Hi all, it’s Lois, hope you are doing well. Here we go with this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, current favourites that aren’t books. This one is actually gonna be a hard one for me I can never think of things I class as my favourites.

Top 5 Wednesday is a challenge tag hosted by Lainey from Gingerreadslainey on Youtube and Sam from Thoughtsontomes on Youtube. Find them and the Goodreads challenge group links below:

Lainey on Youtube

Sam on Youtube

Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group

Without further ado, here are my top 5 current favourites that aren’t books.

1) Hamilton the Musical

Hamilton.jpgHamilton is an American Musical that tells the story about the life of American Founding Father Alexander Hamilton. It was written and composed by Lin-Manuel Miranda who recently also wrote the soundtrack for the Disney movie Moana. Hamilton was inspired by the 2004 biography Alexander Hamilton by Ron Chernow.

I had been hearing a lot of things about this musical over the course of last year and in November decided to just buy the CD of all the songs in the musical and see what I thought. Safe to say, after just over 3 months of having this CD in my car and listening to nothing else, Hamilton the Musical is most certainly one of my favourite things ever! I was lucky enough to get tickets to see the musical when it comes to London next year on Monday and I was ecstatic! Bring on 2018!

2) Vector Portraits

screen-shot-2017-01-29-at-11-02-37I only really started creating Vector Portraits on Friday but I have been working on them everyday since. Vector Portraits are a form of digital artwork in which the shapes in the art are represented by mathematical equations within a computer. Geometric shapes like lines, waves, single points and curves are placed together by the artist to create an illustration while the computer keeps track of each item’s location, curve and relative proportion to the other shapes.

Doing Vector Portraits keeps me occupied for hours. They have made me realise I want to be a graphic designer when I am older. So I am now trying to find a route into that. But here are the posts I did on my Vector Portraits:

Dobby Artwork

Voldemort Artwork

3) A Series of Unfortunate Events, the Netflix Series

MV5BMTUxMjIzODI0NV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwMDk3OTI2MDI@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,704,1000_AL_.jpgThis series was released on 13th January this year. I had been waiting for there to be a series of these books for a long time. So I was very excited to watch it. I had watched it within 2 days and I did love it. I am currently on my 4th watch through of the series. I know this is bad but once I enjoy a TV series I watch that over and over until a new series is released.

The acting in this series is magnificent and although it is an ‘unfortunate’ story it still makes me laugh out loud at parts.

I reviewed this TV show last week and you can check this out here. This is definitely by favourite TV show at the minute.

4) Hoodies

Screen Shot 2017-02-01 at 14.08.05.pngThis one is slightly random but I live in hoodies. I got 3 as presents at Christmas and then I bought another 3 in the sales last month. I live in the North of England and it is cold up here, plus I am a cold person anyway, so, I alway have a hoodie on or near me to put on when I get cold. My favourites would have to be those that are slightly oversized so I can snuggle into them when I am cold. I even occasionally steal David’s hoodies because he never wears them and they are so cosy. I am currently snuggled up in my lounge writing this post with the hoodie on the right. It is so soft and cosy!

I definitely have too many hoodies but I am sure I will buy more because they are a staple item in my wardrobe!

5) Makeup

IMG_2691.JPGI have wore makeup since I was 13. I was very self-conscious at that age and began wearing a little bit everyday. As I got older I tried to stop wearing it but I was so used to putting makeup on I had to wear it. Recently I have gotten a lot better at doing my makeup, I have actually started to contour and highlight my face and it doesn’t look that bad. I will definitely keep trying to get a lot better at doing my makeup. I don’t wear it now because I am self-conscious, I can happily go out without it on for a day. But I wear it now because I really enjoy putting it on in a morning and practising putting makeup on. It is a part of my routine that I love doing.

Sorry for the picture on the right, especially the snapchat filter that is on the picture. But I just wanted to show my makeup to show what I am talking about.

There you have it, this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, current favourite that aren’t books. Comment below your current favourite that aren’t books!

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

 

10 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Current Favourites that Aren’t Books

  1. That Voldemort portrait thing is so stunning! Wow! I love the Series of Unfortunate Events Netflix series as well (only seen the first two episodes though). They have really done a wonderful job

    Liked by 1 person

  2. 1. The codeword is Rochambeau dig me? (I LOVE Hamilton so much)
    2. WOW. You are an artist my dear. That is fabulous work.
    5. I like the picture. I’ve never been one for makeup myself, so I’m impressed with other people’s ability.

    Like

    1. Rochambeau! I love it too! I can’t believe I actually get to see it next year. Thank you so much 🙂 They take so much time to do but I really do enjoyed creating little pictures. Thank you again haha, I still haven’t mastered makeup yet, I will do one day (I hope!) 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay someone else who is obsessed with hoodies! I swear half of my closest is hoodies. I get them everywhere I go, so I’ve racked up quite the collection! 🙂 Part of me knows it’s a bad habit because I’ll run out if room, but there is no way I can stop! 😛

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

