Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · haul · Review · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

Blogger Recognition Award

Screen Shot 2017-02-02 at 09.31.22.png

Hey guys, it’s Lois and David. We were nominated by Jess @ Beaucoupbooks for the blogger recognition award. Thank you Jess! Make sure you check out her blog for all things books. It always means a lot to be nominated for an award.

Rules:

  • Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Write a post to show your award.
  • Give a brief story of how your blog started.
  • Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
  • Select 15 other bloggers you want to give this award to.
  • Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated and provide the link to the post you created.

How/Why we started Loisreadsbooks:

I (Lois) started the blog in August of last year. I had wanted to start a blog for a long time but hadn’t had the time. But I saw a huge community of book bloggers who were sharing their love for books and wanted to join in on this and share my love for books with the blogging community. David joined the blog just short of three weeks ago. He was talking to me one day and had told me I should read the book he had just read so I could review it on here. So, I suggested to him that he reviewed it himself and then he could join my blog regularly. 5 months on for me and 3 weeks on for David and we are both still loving blogging and showing people our reviews.

Two Pieces of Advice for New Bloggers:

1. Lois’ Advice

Create contacts with other bloggers, authors and publishers. I was terrified to do this when I started working on this blog. But now it is one of my favourite things to do. I love interacting with other blogger especially, it broadens your audience as well as giving you new things to look at. Don’t be too scared to speak to authors and publishers directly. They aren’t scary people, they just want to get their books out their to an audience and will be very happy for you to contact them.

2. David’s Advice 

Try as best you can to keep posts regular, but not at the expense of the quality of your content. Me and Lois have been trying to post something everyday for the past three weeks now and we are doing really with it. If you are posting regularly make sure the quality of your content is still as good as it would be if you weren’t posting as regular. If you have the time plan posts ahead of time, write them ahead of time and then schedule them to post. This saves an awful lot of stress.

We Tag/Nominate:

(Sorry if you have been tagged already and it isn’t an obligation to post this don’t worry)

Thanks again to Jess @ Beaucoupbooks for tagging me and David in this. We had a lot of fun doing this as we always do with tags! Hope the advice is useful and you enjoyed the post!

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Facebook here, and on Goodreads here.

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

 

15 thoughts on “Blogger Recognition Award

  1. Both excellent pieces of advice for new bloggers! Original and quality content is so important, but so is communication. Not only does getting out there and interacting with other blogs/publishers help promote your own blog, but it’s also a great way to build up an online community of like minded friends. And that’s actually become my favorite part of running Birdie Bookworm.

    Congratulations to the both of you. You’ve created an amazing online home for yourselves that’s inviting and interesting. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks again for nominating me! It’s awesome that you Louis have been doing this for five months and you David for taking part for 3 weeks. It’s great to work together with someone on your content. I look forward to participating in this award!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks for the nomination! I apologise in advance if I am late doing the tag (if at all) as I am hopeless at doing them. 😂
    Well done both on making a good, early impression on many bloggers in the early months of your blog. Continue the good work! 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thank you again for the tag! 😀
    That’s really cute that you blog together. It’s like having a blogging buddy! That’s also some really good advice, and I also believe that if you’re going to post every day, make it worth it, and don’t let the content suffer (that’s part of the reason I can’t post every day… way too much stress) but with the two of you, I see that as being a healthy fun balance! 🙂

    Like

  5. Thanks for the tag 🙂
    I can’t believe you’ve only been blogging a few months. I’ve been really enjoying reading your posts.
    It’ll probably be a couple of weeks before I get around to doing this but I definitely will 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

