audio book · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · haul · Review · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

Audio Book Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Screen Shot 2017-02-10 at 10.11.02.png

Title: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before (2014)
Author: Jenny Han
Narrated By: Laura Knight Keatings
Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction, Romance and Chick Lit
Extent: 8 Hours and 22 Minutes
Publisher: Simon and Schuster and Recorded Books
Release Date: 15th April, 2014
Rating: ★★★★☆

Synopsis

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all.”

Review

Imagine you have been writing love letters to all the boys you have loved but kept them secret and then suddenly each one of them is sent out to the boy in question. This is exactly what happens to Lara Jean.

I didn’t think to listen to this audio book at all until at the end of listening to the Since You’ve Been Gone audio book where they recommended to listen to this book. This isn’t the usual book that I would pick up in a book store or think to listen to the audio book of, but I am so glad that I did.

The only thing I knew about this book when I started listening was the synopsis. This is something I don’t usually do but at the time I was in work and needed an audio book to listen to quickly so I just chose this. I enjoyed this book, a few audio books I have listened to recently just didn’t take my interest. But with this book I was excited to be able to listen to it at work. Which does make my job a whole lot easier.  I found myself getting completely lost in this story over and over whilst listening. Something about this book just captivated my attention. I feel as though this book is aimed at younger teenager and not those near to the age of 20. But I feel as though listening to this brought be back to being younger and gave me escapism for everyday life. Which is something I needed when listening to this book.

I love the characters in this book. Lara Jean’s sisters Kitty and Margot had to be my favourites. Kitty reminded me so much of my younger sister so I felt as though I needed to care for her throughout the book. Margot reminded me of myself as she wants to look after everyone always and she is just about to go to university. Lara Jean herself is also a marvellous character. I loved the relationship that Lara Jean had with her sister, I can relate to the relationship they have with each other. It is just so heart-warming to read about a sister relationship in a book. Peter although at the beginning seems obnoxious and loud isn’t just that. He is caring for Lara Jean and doesn’t hide his emotions at all.

Laura Knight Keatings narration puts across each character and the storyline perfectly. The narration of an audiobook is a huge part for me and I could have happily listened to Laura Knight Keatings reading me a lot of books. Jenny Han has written a heart-felt book that keeps your attention throughout.

Overall, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before is a heart-warming book with real problems and real people. I recommend this to fans of Young Adult Contemporary novels and those how need to escape from the trouble of life. I enjoyed this so much that I instantly downloaded the sequel P.s I still Love after finishing this book and began listening to it. I am so glad I didn’t have to wait for the sequel as I couldn’t stand being left on a cliff-hanger.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

5 thoughts on “Audio Book Review: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

Leave a Reply

