audio book · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · haul · Review · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

Standalone Sunday

Screen Shot 2017-02-12 at 11.27.09.png

Hey guys. it’s Lois, I have been seeing this weekly meme floating around for a while now. I have finally decided to join in.

Standalone Sunday is a weekly meme created by Megan @ Bookslayerreads. Every Sunday we make a post about a standalone book, so one that is not part of a series. There is an awful lot of focus are books that are part of a series, so it is always nice to feature a standalone book.

So, here is this weeks Standalone Sunday book, On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

51jrvyjbdl-_sx324_bo1204203200_

Published: 14th July 2016

Synopsis:

“A love story like no other, this is the debut novel from Carrie Hope Fletcher, author of the Sunday Times No. 1 bestseller All I Know Now.

Evie Snow is eighty-two when she quietly passes away in her sleep, surrounded by her children and grandchildren. It’s the way most people wish to leave the world but when Evie reaches the door of her own private heaven, she finds that she’s become her twenty-seven-year-old self and the door won’t open.

Evie’s soul must be light enough to pass through so she needs to get rid of whatever is making her soul heavy. For Evie, this means unburdening herself of the three secrets that have weighed her down for over fifty years, so she must find a way to reveal them before it’s too late. As Evie begins the journey of a lifetime, she learns more about life and love than she ever thought possible, and somehow , some way, she may also find her way back to her long lost love . . .”

My Comments:

This is one of my favourite books of last year. I picked it up the day before I went on holiday and finished it very soon after getting to my holiday destination. I got so caught up in its storyline and every chance I had the book was in my hand and I was reading it.

The writing in this book is beautiful and the characters and their storylines are so heart-warming. I really recommend this to any fiction fan out there who enjoy books with romance. I loved this book so much that I ordered the special edition paperback that is being released that will be signed by Carrie Hope Fletcher.

I wrote a review on this book pretty soon after I began my blog in August so it has a half star rating which is something I don’t do anymore. Read my 4.5/5 star review of it here.

There you have it my first ever Standalone Sunday, I really enjoyed doing this weekly meme and I will definitely be doing it next week.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

4 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday

Leave a Reply

