audio book · Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · haul · Review · Science · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

Burn, Rewrite and Reread Book Tag

Screen Shot 2017-02-12 at 22.24.26.png

Hey guys, it’s Lois and David. We were tagged by the lovely Birdie Bookworm in the burn, rewrite and reread book tag. This is definitely going to be a fun one to do together. I used the Goodreads tip in the rules below because I currently don’t have all my books with me. For David’s selections, I picked 9 random books from around his room that he has read and made him pick them from a line up with his eyes close so it was still fair. We are going to do 6 rounds and have alternate rounds each.

So without further ado, here is the burn, rewrite and reread tag.

Rules:

  • Randomly choose 3 books (Tip: Use the “Sort > Random” option on your Goodreads’ Read shelf.).
  • For each group, decide which book to burn, which one to rewrite, and which to reread (a lot like Kiss, Marry, Kill).
  • Repeat until you completed three rounds (or six).

Round 1: Lois

Burn: The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I know a lot of people will disagree with me for this but I used to love this book so much. Nowadays I am not a huge fan at all, my opinions on the book have completely changed and I really don’t think I will reread this book again. I completely blame this on the film adaptation of the book as I feel it took out all the emotions that the book had.

Rewrite: The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

I would have to rewrite this book, purely because I want to know more about the other characters in the book. I feel that, because the style of this book is Charlie speaking to the reader through a series of letter, if I had to rewrite it I would take out the letter style completely. Instead I would have the book written in a third person narrative so that the readers learn more about the other prominent characters in the book.

Reread: Extraordinary Means by Robyn Schneider

I loved this book, I read it right at the beginning of 2016 and it only took me two days to finish reading because of how immersed in the story I was. I would love to reread it to see if my opinions of the book have changed or not. As well as just getting back into a story which I loved so much at the beginning of last year.

Round 2: David

Burn: The Underground Railroad by Colson Whitehead

This round has been horrible to me. I really enjoyed all three of these books and choosing between the two is so difficult. However of the three books, I would have to say that The Underground Railroad is my least favourite and that I would be forced, very reluctantly, to burn it.

Rewrite: Bane by Joe Donnelly

Between the remaining two books left on this list I feel that Bane is not as good as the third policeman as it is the only one I can fault. As I am being forced to rewrite this book, I would have to possibly cut down on a bit of the romance and the character interaction as this book is quite a long horror novel with a slow boiling plot. Although this is one of the elements that I enjoy it is possibly a little superfluous at times.

Reread: The Third Policeman by Flann O’Brien

This book is another favourite of mine joining 1984 in my top five books of all time. It is an indescribable novel which is incredibly bizarre, eccentric and absurd. It is also a longstanding favourite amongst many of my family. I normally reread this book at least once a year if not twice!

Round 3: Lois

Burn: The Walking Dead Book 1 by Robert Kirkman

I would have to burn this book purely because at the minute I have completely lost interest with the TV show The Walking Dead which means my reading of the comics has slowed down. Even though the comics are a lot better than the TV show in my opinion, I feel as though I wouldn’t be all that bothered if the comic books suddenly vanished off the face of the earth.

Rewrite: Unboxed by Non Pratt

The only reason I would rewrite this book would purely be so that the book was a little longer. When I was reading this book I didn’t want it to end. Even though I know it is purposely a short book to get people into reading I really would rewrite just to add a little bit more to the story.

Reread: We Are All Made of Molecules by Susin Nielsen

I would very happily reread this book over and over. I read it last year whilst on holiday and it made me laugh a lot. I loved how all the issues in the book were tackled and the story had the perfect length. So, I would happily reread this book as it is a very enjoyable read.

Round 4: David

Burn: Being a Beast by Charles Foster

This is the only easy choice I actually get to make. I did not enjoy this book and anyone who has read my review will understand why. Therefore I will happily consign this book to the flames.

Rewrite: Wolf Brother by Michelle Paver

As for the remaining two books I love both of them and deciding between the two, is like deciding whether to lose an arm or a leg. After much debate I would have to say that Wolf Brother just comes short of The Golem’s Eye, however it is incredibly close and if I did this tag on another day I might choose differently. As I have to rewrite it, I would possibly add a little more length to this book as, although brilliant, it is short and sweet and I could have read even more.

Reread: The Golem’s Eye by Jonathan Stroud

This book is a brilliant read and is the second book in the Bartimaeus trilogy. I have loved these books since I was a child and I reread them often. This is also true of the Chronicles of ancient darkness, which Wolf Brother is part of, however as I have to choose between them I feel this one if just that bit better.

Round 5: Lois

Burn: Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

This one was the toughest round for me as I am a huge fan of all three of these books. But if I had to choose I would burn Everything Everything purely because it is my least favourite of the three. It is a spectacular book and it would be sad to watch it burn.

Rewrite: Papertowns by John Green

I think everyone who has read this book would know which part I would rewrite. I love this book so much but that part I would be very happy to rewrite. Quinn is one of my favourite names so I can’t talk about this book without mentioning that. I would only rewrite that section though and nothing else because it is a brilliant story.

Reread: On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

I would love to reread this book. I literally just talked about it in my standalone Sunday yesterday. I got so caught up in this story. I recently bought the signed paperback edition of this book and plan on listening to the audio book when it is released so I already have it planned to reread this book!

Round 6: David

 

Burn: The Wasp That Brainwashed the Caterpillar by Matt Simon

Again another horrible decision that I have been forced to make by this tag. This book was a brilliant read and anyone who has read my review will know that I love it. However it was put up against one of my top five books of all time (1984) and a book from my childhood that I love and which is incredibly nostalgic for me (Beyond The Deepwoods). As a result I have to put it, very reluctantly, on the fire. This tag has not been kind to me!

Rewrite: Beyond The Deepwoods by Paul Stewart and Chris Riddell 

Although both this and 1984 are brilliant books, of the two of them 1984 is the best for me. I love this book so much as I have memories of reading it as a young child with my mum, both in my bedroom and on holiday, and later on my own when I was first learning to read. As such this book is almost painfully nostalgic for me. However if I was rewriting it I would probably make it even longer and include more incredible beasts and monsters that made this series so magical to me as a child such as the hoverworm, the banderbear and the terrifying Gloamglozer.

Reread: 1984 by George Orwell

Anyone who follows our blog is probably sick of my posts about this book, as I have reviewed it and written two other posts about it, and for that I am sincerely sorry. However I am not apologetic about my love for this brilliant dystopian novel. Every time I read this book it is as though it is the first and it always leaves me feeling overwhelmed with its powerful sentiment. It has long been one of my top five books and I reread it very often!

We Tag: 

Meghan @ Whimsically Meghan

Vikki @ Meandmymundanelife

Ryann @ Ryannthereader

Nova @ Galaxylocks

There you have it, our burn, rewrite and reread tag. We had a lot of fun doing this even if it was very hard to David. We hope you enjoyed it too.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks, on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

 

8 thoughts on “Burn, Rewrite and Reread Book Tag

  1. Awesome tag! I’ve totally lost interesting Walking Dead this season too. I didn’t even see the midwinter finale and I have no urge to watch last nights premiere.

    Also, I’ve owned the Bartimaeus books for years. I think I bought them in 2010. And they just sit on my shelf unread. I stare at them frequently and never pick it up, but I can’t seem to bring myself to get rid of them either.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thank you again for the tag! This tag is so much fun, so I can’t wait to do it again! 😀
    I agree with your decision on burning the Fault in Our Stars. It’s one of those novels that just got to be too much and it’s everywhere, and everything about it was too perfect. Like even though the main characters were sick, nothing else about them felt flawed. Not my favourite Green novel.
    I loved reading both of your answers! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

