Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · haul · Tag · Uncategorized

Pottermore Sorting

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 10.50.51.png

Hey guys, it’s Lois, I felt like doing a post today showing what Hogwarts House, Ilvermorny House I am sorted into, my patronus and my wand. Hope you enjoy!

Hogwarts House

PM_House_Pages_400_x_400_px_FINAL_CREST.pngI am a Ravenclaw! I was so happy when I was sorted into Ravenclaw because I had always thought I was a Ravenclaw from a young age.

 “Ravenclaws prize wit, learning, and wisdom. It’s an ethos etched into founder Rowena Ravenclaw diadem: ‘wit beyond measure is man’s greatest treasure'”

I love to show my house pride when I am out and about, I have a patch that is on my backpack for university that is the Ravenclaw house badge. I also have a few Ravenclaw t-shirts and quite a bit of stationary.

Luna Lovegood is a Ravenclaw and an awful lot of people tell me I am extremely similar to Luna, which I am extremely happy about. I love her character and I own her wand. I love being a Ravenclaw and the traits of a Ravenclaw really match me i think. I love learning it is one of my favourite things, I even learn things in my spare time after being at university all day.

Ilvermorny House

PM_Ilvermorny_House_Crest_Thunderbird.jpgI am a ThunderBird! I don’t really know much about the Ilvermorny houses. I would love to know more about them but when the sorting came out I as quick to get sorted.

“Named by Chadwick Boot after his favourite magical beast, the Thunderbird, a beast that can create storms as it flies. Thunderbird house is sometimes considered to represent the soul of a witch or wizard. It is also said that Thunderbird favours adventurers.”

Now my favourite beast in the Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them movie was the Thunderbird. As soon as I saw it I was mesmerised by its beauty. When I finally realised that my Ilvermorny house was after the beast Thunderbird I was extremely happy. I think it is funny that the Thunderbird “creates storms as it flies” and I can get very mad very suddenly over little things so creating my own little storms, so I really relate to this bit.

I would say in a sense I am an adventurer, but not that much. Sometimes I enjoy going on adventures and finding new things. But most of the time I like sitting at home and just reading. But I still relate to being a Thunderbird and I am very happy that I was sorted into this Ilvermorny house.

My Wand

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 10.30.56.pngMy wand is a Pear wood with a unicorn hair core, 10″ and slightly yielding flexibility”. I think this wand is pretty cool actually. At first I thought it was on the smaller side because I am extremely small but after reading into it many small witches and wizards are chosen by longer wands. I am very happy with the size of my wand.

The fact that my wand is slightly flexible is good in my eyes. I am very clumsy and would always be terrified of breaking my wand. “Wand flexibility or rigidity denotes the degree of adaptability and willingness to change possessed by the wand-and-owner pair”.  

I had no idea what Pear wood was when I got my wand. “This golden-toned wood produces wands of splendid magical powers, which give of their best in the hands of the warm-hearted, the generous and the wise. Possessors of pear wands are, in my experience, usually popular and well-respected. I do not know of a single instance where a pear wand has been discovered in the possession of a Dark witch or wizard. Pear wands are among the most resilient, and I have often observed that they may still present a remarkable appearance of newness, even after many years of hard use.” Hooray I am not a dark witch! I feel like the traits of this wood are traits I possess (well I hope).

I also didn’t know what to expect with the unicorn hair in my wand. “Unicorn hair generally produces the most consistent magic, and is least subject to fluctuations and blockages. Wands with unicorn cores are generally the most difficult to turn to the Dark Arts. They are the most faithful of all wands, and usually remain strongly attached to their first owner, irrespective of whether he or she was an accomplished witch or wizard. Minor disadvantages of unicorn hair are that they do not make the most powerful wands (although the wand wood may compensate) and that they are prone to melancholy if seriously mishandled, meaning that the hair may ‘die’ and need replacing.” Again I am extremely happy with this, I won’t be turning to the dark arts anytime soon. I don’t mind my wand not being the most powerful really as long as my wand is faithful and does magic I will be happy. I am overall very happy with this wand.

My Patronus 

Screen Shot 2017-02-17 at 10.42.18.pngMy Patronus is a Beagle. I am very happy with this I have loved Beagles since a very young age so I was happy to see that this is what would be protecting me.

“The Patronus is the most famous (and famously difficult) defensive charm. The aim is to produce a silvery-white guardian or protector, which takes the form of an animal. The exact form of the Patronus will not be apparent until the spell has been successfully cast. One of the most powerful defensive charms known to wizardkind, the Patronus can also be used as a messenger between wizards. As a pure, protective magical concentration of happiness and hope (the recollection of a single talisman memory is essential in its creation) it is the only spell effective against Dementors. The majority of witches and wizards are unable to produce Patronuses and to do so is generally considered a mark of superior magical ability.”

There you have it that was my Pottermore Sorting! Let me know in the comments your houses and your patronus and your wand! Hope you enjoyed this post.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

5 thoughts on “Pottermore Sorting

  1. Awesome, I’m a Ravenclaw too. I took the patronus test not long ago and got a Blackbird. I don’t know if I like it, because I’m not huge on birds. Beagles are really cute ^_^ , and good thing you are happy with your patronus 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

