Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

Mystery Blogger Award

Screen Shot 2017-02-18 at 15.02.59.png

Hey guys, it’s Lois and David, we were tagged by the amazing Ryann @ Ryannthereader in the Mystery Blogger Award. Go and check out her blog we lover her posts!

So without further ado, here we go.

mystery_blogger_award


The Rules:

  • Put the award logo/image on your blog
  • List the rules
  • Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  • Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well (Okoto Enigma @ Okoto Enigma’s Blog)
  • Tell your readers 3 things about yourself
  • You nominate 10 – 20 people
  • Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog
  • Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question (specify)
  • Share a link to your best post(s)

Three Things About Us:

  1. Lois – I am currently studying Media Production at University but I am really not enjoying it. My course is extremely unorganised and I am not being taught anything new. So, I am going to leave university at the end of the year and go into a Graphic Design job instead.
  2. David – I am currently studying Animal Behaviour and Welfare at University and I am really enjoying it. I have loved animals since a young age and as Lois would say, know too many facts about animals. I get to go into university and play with animals everyday. This makes Lois very envious as she also loves animals.
  3. Lois and David – We have been a couple for almost 2 years now. I dragged David on our first date to watch Avengers: Age of Ultron. Nowadays our dates consist of going on walks or out for meals. We are both fans of a nature reserve close to where we live and go there as often as we can.

Ryannthereader’s Questions:

Is there a person in your life who had a big impact on your love of books? Who are they, and how did they encourage your love of reading?

Lois: I would have to say my Mum and Grandma, I can’t just pick one of them. They have a huge love for reading so ever since I was a baby they read to me before bed. They I began reading at 4 and I was reading big books at 6. The encouraged my love for reading by taking me into bookshops a lot and buying me a lot of books. I used to go into the local bookshop with my Grandma every weekend and she would buy me a book. My Mum and Grandma are definitely the people who had the biggest impact on my love for reading.

David: My Mum and Dad always encouraged me to read books from a very young age. Even when I was too young to read myself, my parents would read books to me and my Mum bought me a cassette player for audio books. This led to me being a very strong reader from a young age.

If you’re having a tough day, what’s your immediate go-to book? What’s the book that you know is always gonna have your back?

Lois: I would have to say Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets. I know that the Harry Potter series will always have my back and cheer my up because I get whisked away to the world of Hogwarts. I have been carrying the Chamber of Secrets in every bag I have used for over 4 months now. I just have it there just in case I need to read a few lines or a chapter (silly I know but it keeps me calm).

David: I can’t honestly say that I have a book that I would read if I was having a bad day. If I have had a bad day reading a boom is usually the last thing on my mind as I get depressed and lose interest in things I usually enjoy. To enjoy reading I really have to be in a positive mindset, otherwise it just feels like a chore.

Do you prefer books that make you laugh, or books that make you cry, and why?

Lois: I actually prefer books that make me laugh and cry. I love going through a lot of emotions when I read books. I occasionally just want to laugh and sometimes I just want to cry so I pick books accordingly. But I do prefer laughing and crying when I read a book.

David: I prefer books that hit me hard and give me some kind of powerful sentiment such as 1984. However, I wouldn’t say that books make me cry, rather they make me feel melancholy and introspective.

Pretend your favourite character came to spend one day with you. Who are they, where would you take them, and what is one thing you would absolutely want them to see before they left?

Lois: It would have to be Hermione Granger. Purely because I have looked up to her character for a long time. I would have to take her to the local nature reserve, so we could go on a long walk and have a lovely chat. I would also have to take them to the local book store because it is huge and I’m sure she would love it. Before she left I would have to make her see my book collection so they she could see what she thought of my books.

David: My favourite character is Winston Smith of 1984 the oppressed party worker, in the dystopian future of 1984. I would just take him to see our world as for him a society that is reasonably free would be a paradise. I think he would absolutely have to see a supermarket as in the novel he is amazed at the sight of real bread, sugar, jam and coffee. I think he would have his mind blown by a supermarket!

Random Question: In keeping with the spirit of the month, what is your favourite nerdy/cheesy pick-up line?

Lois: Is your name Wi-fi? Because I’m feeling a connection. I would never use this on anyone ever but it just really makes me laugh.

David: If she was a president, she’d be “babe”raham Lincoln – Wayne’s World.


My Nominations:

Crystal @ Lostnagoodbook

Rakel @ Mirakelbooks

Birdie @ Birdiebookworm

Jess @ Beaucoupbooks

Ottavia @ Novelsandnonfiction

Meghan @ Whimsicallymeghan

Matxi @ Matxibooks

Diana @ Dianaprincereviews

Susan @ Susanlovesbooks

Emma @ Emmathebookslover

If you do do this tag, don’t forget to leave your links in the comments below we would love to read your answers!


Our Questions for You:

  1. If you could only take one book with you onto a dessert island, what would it be and why?
  2. If you could get everyone in the world to read one book, what would it be and why?
  3. What book would you get President Donald Trump to read?
  4. What do you think the purpose of books should be in today’s society?
  5. Random Question: What is your dream job and why?

There you have it, the mystery blogger award. Thank you for reading and hope you enjoyed our answers! Don’t forget you can always ask us more questions in the comments below.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

15 thoughts on “Mystery Blogger Award

  1. Thank you so much for nominating me 🙂 Great answers. Studying Animal Behavior sounds really awesome, and I totally understand that Lois is envious haha. Fun fact from me, the fist movies me and my bf watched together was the Rambo movies, and I hated them. Until a couple of years ago, he thought I enjoyed them haha.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. These are awesome answers! I’m sooo jealous of David for being able to spend all day with animals!!

    And for me, I almost always have The Voyage of the Dawn Treader in my bag, just in case, so I definitely understand carrying your feel-good book with you everywhere! 🙂

    (And A+++ pick-up lines!!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thanks again for the tag! 🙂 I look forward to answering your questions!
    I love how you guys do these tags together. I hope you have better luck liking Graphic Design! And gosh spending all day with animals? That must be very rewarding, that’s like a giant mood booster right there!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

