Book Haul · Book review · Books · tbr · Uncategorized

Standalone Sunday

screen-shot-2017-02-12-at-11-27-09

Hey guys. it’s Lois, back with another Standalone Sunday.

Standalone Sunday is a weekly meme created by Megan @ Bookslayerreads. Every Sunday we make a post about a standalone book, so one that is not part of a series. There is an awful lot of focus are books that are part of a series, so it is always nice to feature a standalone book.

So, here is this weeks Standalone Sunday book, Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven.

1b

Published: 4th October 2016

Synopsis: 

“Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed “America’s Fattest Teen.” But no one’s taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom’s death, she’s been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby’s ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for every possibility life has to offer. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything. 

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he’s got swagger, but he’s also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can’t recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He’s the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything, but he can’t understand what’s going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don’t get too close to anyone.”

My Comments:

I adored this book. It was released on my birthday last year and I bought it the same day. I was lucky enough to get a signed copy of the book. I started reading it pretty much straight away, I had been looking forward to reading this book after hearing so many great things about it, so I didn’t want to leave it on my TBR pile for a long time.

Once I began reading it I couldn’t stop. I got so caught up in the story and the characters that I didn’t want to put it down. At the time I was reading it I was struggling with all my assignments for university, so trying to find that balance was hard but I did it. I finished this book within 3 days. I didn’t want the story to end but all of them have to and this is one I loved.

I wrote a review on this book straight after reading it. I had to write all of my thoughts down. Read my 5 star review here.

There you have it this weeks Standalone Sunday. Comment below if you have read this book or plan on reading this book as well as your thoughts.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

10 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday

Leave a Reply

