Book Haul · Book review · Books · haul · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

February Book Haul

Screen Shot 2017-02-27 at 20.17.52.png

Hey guys, it’s Lois. I went a little crazy buying books this month. There has been so many new releases that I had to get! Plus there a few books I bought this month that I have been looking at buying for quite a while now.

Here are the books that I bought in February.


1) All About Mia by Lisa Williamson

32615725 (2).jpg“One family, three sisters.
GRACE, the oldest: straight-A student.
AUDREY, the youngest: future Olympic swimming champion.
And MIA, the mess in the middle.
Mia is wild and daring, great with hair and selfies, and the undisputed leader of her friends – not attributes appreciated by her parents or teachers.
When Grace makes a shock announcement, Mia hopes that her now-not-so-perfect sister will get into the trouble she deserves.
But instead, it is Mia whose life spirals out of control – boozing, boys and bad behaviour – and she starts to realise that her attempts to make it All About Mia might put at risk the very things she loves the most.”

I saw this book whilst browsing my local book store and just walked past it. My Mum then commented that the author of this book is one of another book that I own. I decided to give the synopsis a read and then a couple of reviews and I knew that I had to give it a read!


2) Ink by Alice Broadway

32827036“Every action, every deed, every significant moment is tattooed on your skin for ever. When Leora’s father dies, she is determined to see her father remembered forever. She knows he deserves to have all his tattoos removed and made into a Skin Book to stand as a record of his good life. But when she discovers that his ink has been edited and his book is incomplete, she wonders whether she ever knew him at all.”

This is a book I had been hearing quite a few things about in my local bookstore. I saw it on the shelf a couple of days after its release and I was immediately drawn to it. The cover is beyond beautiful it is shiny and so detailed. I also loved the concept idea behind this book and just thought I had nothing to lose by getting it and giving it a read!


3) Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

24934065.jpg“She’s more gunpowder than girl—and the fate of the desert lies in her hands.

Mortals rule the desert nation of Miraji, but mystical beasts still roam the wild and barren wastes, and rumor has it that somewhere, djinni still practice their magic. But there’s nothing mystical or magical about Dustwalk, the dead-end town that Amani can’t wait to escape from. ”

I have been hearing about this book since its release last year but for some reason didn’t take any interest in it. It wasn’t until I saw the sequel on the shelf that I decided to do my research on the first book in the series. I was suddenly really interested in the whole story and went home and ordered the book after my research that day.


4) Unconventional by Maggie Harcourt

32820770 (1).jpg“Lexi Angelo has grown up helping her dad with his events business. She likes to stay behind the scenes, planning and organising…until author Aidan Green – messy haired and annoyingly arrogant – arrives unannounced at the first event of the year. Then Lexi’s life is thrown into disarray.

In a flurry of late-night conversations, mixed messages and butterflies, Lexi discovers that some things can’t be planned. Things like falling in love…”

I saw this book on one of my many bookshop visits at the beginning of the month. I was drawn to researching into the book when I saw that there was a quote on the front about fans of Rainbow Rowell books, which I am. I was really interested in the whole concept and because there was a lot of hype around this book I thought that I would give it a go.


5) The Bombs the Brought us Together by Brain Conaghan 

25787521.jpg“Fourteen-year-old Hamish Law has lived in Little Town, on the border with Old Country, all his life. He knows the rules: no going out after dark; no drinking; no litter; no fighting. You don’t want to get on the wrong side of the people who run Little Town. When he meets Pavel Duda, a refugee from Old Country, the rules start to get broken. Then the bombs come, and the soldiers from Old Country, and Little Town changes for ever.”

I have been looking to buy this book for a quite a while now. I kept seeing it in book store and thinking how much I wanted to read its story. I kept putting it off for one reason or another. But this month I finally just decided that now was the time to buy it.


6) My Neighbor Totoro by Tsugiko Kubo

17571527.jpgEleven-year-old Satsuki and her sassy little sister Mei have moved to the country to be closer to their ailing mother. While their father is working, the girls explore their sprawling old house and the forest and fields that surround it. Soon, Satsuki and Mei discover Totoro, a magical forest spirit who takes them on fantastic adventures through the trees and the clouds–and teaches them a lesson about trusting one another. ”

I had been having a really bad day at university so I went to the book store in my break. I was just wandering around the shop hoping to see something that might cheer me up, when this book caught my eye. It is absolutely beautiful! My Neighbour Totoro is one of my favourite films and I always watch it when I need t be cheered up. So, when I saw that there was a book of the film I had to have it.


7) We Are Okay by Nina LaCour

28243032Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend, Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun. Now, months later, alone in an emptied dorm for winter break, Marin waits. Mabel is coming to visit, and Marin will be forced to face everything that’s been left unsaid and finally confront the loneliness that has made a home in her heart.”

This book is so beautiful. It kept popping up on my Amazon recommended page over and over and I kept looking at it longingly. I had another bad day at university last week after having only 3 hours of sleep the night before and this is what happens when I have a bad day. Lesson learnt: Don’t let Lois on the internet to buy books when having a bad day.


8) History is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

25014114“When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.”

I have been looking forward to this book for so long now so when it finally came out over here in the UK I was sure to have it on order. It turned up the day of release and I couldn’t have been happier.


There you have it, our February Book Haul, not the biggest one that has been on this blog but I have bought a few books this month.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

 

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

4 thoughts on “February Book Haul

  1. Pingback: March is a wrap!

Leave a Reply

