Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

The Sunshine Blogger Award

Screen Shot 2017-03-02 at 22.02.32.png

Hey guys, it’s Lois, I was tagged by Zuky @ Bookbum in the Sunshine Blogger Award. I feel as though I did this tag really early on into starting my blog but I am extremely happy to be tagged and to do it all again.  Thank you so much to Zuky for tagging me in this! Be sure to check out her blog, she has so many creative and unique posts!

the-sunshine-blogger-award-copy1.png


Rules:

  • Thank the person(s) who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and write them 11 new questions.
  • List the rules and display the Sunshine Blogger Award logo in your post and/or on your blog.

BookBum’s Questions:

1) What’s your favourite book/movie of all time and why did it speak to you so much?

I can’t just pick one of the two, I love both things too much to do that. So, I will have to go favourite book and favourite movie.

2Favourite Book: This would have to be at the current minute Room by Emma DonoghueI read this book last year and plan on rereading it this year. But it spoke to me on so many levels. I finished reading the book and just sat there for hours and didn’t move. The topics in the book just took over me and it was all I could think about for days. This book definitely changed my view on things.

tumblr_my0xc33gqs1r1mr1po1_400Favourite Film: My favourite film that has been my favourite film for over 5 years now is Forrest GumpMy Mum and Dad introduced me to this film after thinking I would just enjoy it. The weekend they should it to me I watched it a good 4 times. Over time I have practically learnt the entire script and can recite it whenever and wherever. It is just a film that sends you through so many emotions. I laugh and cry when watching this film.

2) What is one thing that people always misunderstand about you?

Just because I am rather small means that I am very quiet. I am 4ft 11 and have been from the age of 11, I just never grew after that. Due to this, people always assume that my size makes me really quiet. They are so wrong, I make my voice heard over all the taller people. I may be small but I have the loudest voice in most situations I am in. Sometimes, yes I am quiet but most of the time you will hear my voice before you see me.

3) If you could bring one musician back to life, who would it be and why?

It would have to be Elvis PresleyI have loved his music ever since watching Lilo and Stitch as a child. I would love to have the opportunity to see him live, that would definitely be a once in a lifetime experience. I still listen to his music a bit nowadays and wish he was still creating music although impossible.

4) If you had to live without one of your senses, which would you give up?

I would give up taste. I know I would miss the taste of some foods, but I am not the biggest food eater and don’t think it would be too much of a hassle to lose my sense of taste. I couldn’t deal with losing my eyesight. My eyesight is bad anyway, everything blurs into one when I take my glasses off. I need to be able to hear for my job. So, I would have to lose taste.

5) How would you spend 1 million pounds?

I have talked about this question a lot recently with a lot of people, so I am pretty set on my answer. I would give quite a lot of it to my Grandparents and Parents, so they didn’t have to struggle with money again and could possible buy them selves a new house. Plus, it would be paying them back a little for raising me. I would give some of it to my younger sister so that she could save it up for her first house. I might get myself a few new books with it. I would use a lot of it to buy me and David our first house together and the furniture for that, plus a pet if we could afford it. I would save a little bit of it for emergencies. Then the rest I would distribute between a variety of charities, because I don’t need the 1 million pounds and they can do a lot with some of that.

6) What was your childhood dream job?

It was a mix between being an artist and a sound engineer. I wanted to be an artist at one point even though I really could not draw. I just drew stickmen and the sun in the corner of the page. When I started going to music concerts at the age of 4 I was always intrigued by the man sitting in the middle sorting out the sound. That is where my dream of being a sound engineer started. This completely changed in college thanks to a particular teacher. But, I think it was for the better.

7) If you could change one law, what would it be, and what would you change it to?

I am not too sure if this is classes as a law, I think it is. But it is the tax on tampons and other feminine products. I get really mad when this is mentioned because tampons are expensive things to buy for something that all woman are naturally meant to do. I think they should just take off the tax on them completely and make them in some cases even free. Or if possible add offers onto the packets such as, 10% off ice-cream with this product or 20% off chocolate (because a lot of woman have sweet cravings on their period and could do with them a little cheaper).

8) Do you have any heroes? Who are they?

My heroes would have to be my Mum, my Grandma and Roald Dahl. My Mum and Grandma inspire me and have done ever since I was little. They were the people who got me into reading. Roald Dahl is an author who I have read ever since I was young. He is the author that really got me into reading and made me become a little bookworm.

9) Other than books, what are you passionate about?

I am passionate about playing the guitar and helping the elderly. I have loved helping elderly people from a young age. This is because I see how much of a benefit it is to them. Some elderly people don’t have any relative or talk to anyone, so just being someone to talk to for a few hours a week makes a big difference. David’s Grandma is also 90 years old, so we both go and she her a lot and do all the jobs around the house for her. It helps her out a lot and she enjoys seeing us both. In terms of guitar, I have played acoustic guitar since I was 9 and I am currently working towards my grade 8 which is the top grade you can get. So, I really enjoy playing my guitar when I have the time.

10) What is your biggest fear?

This question is a funny one because as I was just typing it out then I wrote fire instead of fear. So there it is, my biggest fear is fire. It always has been. Every since I was little I couldn’t stand going to bonfires or watching fireworks. They both terrify me. I have cried on rollercoaster because fire has suddenly shot up from out of nowhere. It just terrifies me a lot and I do anything to avoid anything with fire near by.

11) Do you have any pets?

16586471_1623934227678781_1238894170_oI do! If you also count David’s pets as mine I have even more. I have a West Highland Terrier called Maggie (I picked the name myself after seeing the Simpson character Maggie on the cover of a magazine). The hat and Christmas pudding outfit that she is wearing in the picture are both joke presents that we got her whilst on holiday. I also have 2 goldfish called Frank and Mike (I didn’t name them, my 16523074_1623932304345640_175436914_oyounger sister did and the names still make me laugh on goldfish). David has a Black Labrador called Bella who I now technically class as my pet too I see her that often. She knows when I am not feeling well and follows me around the house. David also has 8 chickens that we feed everyday and collect the eggs from.


I Tag:

Clemence @ Booksxorxmisery

Louise @ Geniereads

Vikki @ Meandmymundanelife

Meghan @ Whimsically Meghan

Crystal @ Lostnagoodbook

Ellen @ Justalittlewritersblog

Rakel @ Mirakelbooks

Jade @ Jadewritesbooks

Aoife @ Prettypurplepolkadots

Jess @ Beaucoupbooks

Richard @ Thehumposhow

Sorry if you have already been tagged in this one before, I guess it’ll be different questions (I hope!).


My Questions for you:

  1. When did you start blogging and why?
  2. What is your favourite TV show, why and would you recommend it to others?
  3. How do you manage time to run your blog efficiently?
  4. What is your proudest achievement?
  5. Who are some of your favourite bloggers and why?
  6. What do you do when you aren’t blogging or reading?
  7. Where do you hope to see yourself 5 years from now?
  8. What is your favourite food and why?
  9. If you could ask any author three questions, who would the author be and what questions would you ask?
  10. How often do you buy books?
  11. What are 5 things you never leave the house without?

There you have it, the Sunshine Blogger award. Thank you to Zuky for tagging me in this and don’t forget to leave the links to yours in the comments below, I can’t wait to read your answers. Hope you enjoyed!

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

 

14 thoughts on “The Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Lois, your posts are always so well put together! Thanks for the nice stuff you said about my blog 😀
    I love Forrest Gump too, it’s such a beautiful movie! I agree on the tampon tax thing as well, it really irritates me that mens razors are classed as necessary items, so they don’t get taxed, but tampons and other sanitary products “aren’t necessary” and so do get taxed. Sorry to be crude, but if we bled everywhere men would be disgusted so sanitary items ARE NECESSARY. Also, cute pets, I seriously love Westies! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great answers 😀 And thank you so much for tagging me 😀 I need to read Room, it sounds really interesting. To change the tax on tampons was a really great answer. Your dogs are really cute, I just want to pet and hug them, haha. My BF’s mom has a Labrador, and it is the cutest and sweetest dog ever.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: March is a wrap!

Leave a Reply

