Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Tag · tbr · Top 5 · Top 5 Wednesday · Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

screen-shot-2017-01-25-at-15-31-26

Hi all, it’s Lois, hope you are doing well. Here we go with this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, favourite science fiction & fantasy books.

Top 5 Wednesday is a challenge tag hosted by Lainey from Gingerreadslainey on Youtube and Sam from Thoughtsontomes on Youtube. Find them and the Goodreads challenge group links below:

Lainey on Youtube

Sam on Youtube

Top 5 Wednesday Goodreads Group

Without further ado, here are my top 5 favourite science fiction & fantasy books.


1) The Hunger Games Series by Suzanne Collins

2767052“The nation of Panem, formed from a post-apocalyptic North America, is a country that consists of a wealthy Capitol region surrounded by 12 poorer districts. Early in its history, a rebellion led by a 13th district against the Capitol resulted in its destruction and the creation of an annual televised event known as the Hunger Games. In punishment, and as a reminder of the power and grace of the Capitol, each district must yield one boy and one girl between the ages of 12 and 18 through a lottery system to participate in the games. The ‘tributes’ are chosen during the annual Reaping and are forced to fight to the death, leaving only one survivor to claim victory.”

This has always been one of my favourites series of Sci-fi books. At the time of reading them they were so different than anything I had read before. Nowadays there a few books that are quite similar to the entire series. Still they are still one of my favourite sci-fi books.


2) The 5th Wave Series by Rick Yancey

16101128-1“After the 1st wave, only darkness remains. After the 2nd, only the lucky escape. And after the 3rd, only the unlucky survive. After the 4th wave, only one rule applies: trust no one.

Now, it’s the dawn of the 5th wave, and on a lonely stretch of highway, Cassie runs from Them. The beings who only look human, who roam the countryside killing anyone they see. Who have scattered Earth’s last survivors. To stay alone is to stay alive, Cassie believes, until she meets Evan Walker. Beguiling and mysterious, Evan Walker may be Cassie’s only hope for rescuing her brother-or even saving herself. But Cassie must choose: between trust and despair, between defiance and surrender, between life and death. To give up or to get up.”

I loved this series (I still haven’t read the last instalment in the series yet but I still love the series). At the time I was reading this book I was a little bit obsessed with aliens because of watching The X-Files so this was an extension of my obsession when I couldn’t actually watch X-Files. The story really dragged me in.


3) Guardians of the Galaxy, Volume 1: Cosmic Avengers

17791477“Why has Earth suddenly become the most important planet in the galaxy? That’s what the Guardians of the Galaxy are going to find out!

Join Star-Lord, Gamora, Drax, Rocket Raccoon, Groot and–wait for it–the Invincible Iron Man as they embark upon one of the most explosive and eye-opening chapters of Marvel NOW! The secrets these galactic Avengers discover will rattle Marvel readers for years to come! But while London deals with a brutal invasion by the Badoon, the fate of the Guardians may have already been decided millions of miles away! Why wait for the movie? It all starts here!”

I absolutely loved the Guardians of the Galaxy movie so as soon as I knew there was a comic it was based on I knew I had to have it. I loved reading it, I just sat one afternoon and devoured the entire comic in one sitting and I don’t regret it. I ordered the sequel the next day and I’m excited to read that soon.


4) The Harry Potter Series by J.K Rowling

51czccauu4l-_sx311_bo1204203200_“Harry Potter’s life is miserable. His parents are dead and he’s stuck with his heartless relatives, who force him to live in a tiny closet under the stairs. But his fortune changes when he receives a letter that tells him the truth about himself: he’s a wizard. A mysterious visitor rescues him from his relatives and takes him to his new home, Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry.”

I had to include the Harry Potter series because of how much I love it. I am always carrying or have a Harry Potter based item close to me. I could reread these stories over and over again and not get bored. I hope to one day listen to all the audio books as well.

 


5) Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find them by J.K Rowling

30065028“When Magizoologist Newt Scamander arrives in New York, he intends his stay to be just a brief stopover. However, when his magical case is misplaced and some of Newt’s fantastic beasts escape, it spells trouble for everyone…”

This is the only other fantasy book I can think of that I have really enjoyed recently. I read the screenplay days after watching the film and loved both which I had expected. I cannot wait for the film to come out on DVD over here in England then I can finally watch it again I miss all the little magical creatures. Overall, a fantastic book and film though.

 


There you have it, this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, favourite science fiction & fantasy books. I am not really the biggest sci-fi or fantasy book fan, but if you have an recommendations for me please put them in the comments below.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

7 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Favourite Science Fiction & Fantasy Books

  1. Pingback: March is a wrap!

Leave a Reply

