Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Tag · tbr · Top 5 · Top 5 Wednesday · Uncategorized

Top 5 Wednesday: Books I feel Betrayed by

screen-shot-2017-01-25-at-15-31-26

Hi all, it’s Lois, hope you are doing well. Here we go with this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, books I feel betrayed by.

Top 5 Wednesday is a weekly challenge, find the Goodreads group here.

 

Without further ado, here are my top 5 books I feel betrayed by.


1) The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett by Chelsea Sedoti

25546710A teenage misfit named Hawthorn Creely inserts herself in the investigation of missing person Lizzie Lovett, who disappeared mysteriously while camping with her boyfriend. Hawthorn doesn’t mean to interfere, but she has a pretty crazy theory about what happened to Lizzie. In order to prove it, she decides to immerse herself in Lizzie’s life. That includes taking her job… and her boyfriend. It’s a huge risk — but it’s just what Hawthorn needs to find her own place in the world.”

It wasn’t so much the story that let me down when it comes to this book it is more the hype that surrounded it. There was so much hype around this book and I got so excited to read it. When it came down to reading it I felt betrayed by the fact there had been so much hype and good words said about a book that didn’t really have the best plot line. Find my review of this book here.


2) The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

the-girl-on-the-train“Rachel takes the same commuter train every morning and night. Every day she rattles down the track, flashes past a stretch of cozy suburban homes, and stops at the signal that allows her to daily watch the same couple breakfasting on their deck. She’s even started to feel like she knows them. Jess and Jason, she calls them. Their life—as she sees it—is perfect. Not unlike the life she recently lost.”

I have never felt more betrayed by a book and the hype surrounding a book more than this one. I heard nothing but amazing things about this book. That it was the best thriller or the year it would make me think and I wouldn’t be able put it down. I hated it. It wasn’t a thriller and I couldn’t even pick it up to read it. I worked out the mystery very quickly into the book. I was extremely betrayed by this book.


3) Hold Me Closer: The Tiny Cooper Story by David Levithan

fh“Jazz hands at the ready! Tiny Cooper (“the world’s largest person who is also really, really gay”) stole readers’ hearts when he was introduced to the world in the New York Times bestselling book Will Grayson, Will Grayson, co-authored by John Green and David Levithan. Now Tiny finally gets to tell his story—from his fabulous birth and childhood to his quest for true love and his infamous parade of ex-boyfriends—the way he always intended: as a musical!”

I read this book around this time last year. I was a huge fan of Will Grayson, Will Grayson, so I was expecting the follow up side story to be a good one. In the actual book the musical is played up to be one of the best things ever. I don’t think that they should have released it as a completely separate book or released it at all. I was a fan of it and felt betrayed that it didn’t seem well written at all.


4) Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins

“Katniss Everdeen, girl on fire, has survived, even though her home has been destroyed. Gale has escaped. Katniss’s family is safe. Peeta has been captured by the Capitol. District 13 really does exist. There are rebels. There are new leaders. A revolution is unfolding.”

The final instalment of a book has never let me down more ever. I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who has not read it before. So, I’ll just say that it was a book I feel was written too quickly without much thought for the plot.

I have to mention the film too. Again, I feel like they also rushed that and just wanted to bring in the box office money that was available for the film company to receive.


5) When We Collided by Emery Lord

1459855355-when-we-collided-book-cover“Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn’t be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi’s zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there’s something important Vivi hasn’t told him.”

This is another book I felt let down by. I felt like the story was way too rushed. I did read it within the space of a couple of days. But, I felt that as the book got towards the midpoint the author thought uh oh I need to get this story to an end as soon as I can. The fact that this book did do this ruined by thoughts on it really and made me feel betrayed.


There you have it, this weeks Top 5 Wednesday, books I feel betrayed by. Comment below books you feel betrayed by as well as links to your T5w!

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

 

6 thoughts on “Top 5 Wednesday: Books I feel Betrayed by

  1. I feel the same way about Mockingjay. I read it so long ago that I barely remember what happened. But I do remember thinking it went by way too fast and like I wanted more. I felt like everything sped by so I couldn’t get a firm grasp on things. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: March is a wrap!

Leave a Reply

