Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · haul · Tag · tbr · Top 10 · Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read when you’re Stressed

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-13-21-59

Hello all and welcome to another Top Ten Tuesday! This weeks top ten topic books to read when you’re stressed. It was all about books that you could read quickly and I think that is perfect to talk about books and stress. I am currently the most stressed I have been in a long time because of university and life in general so I wanted to incorporate this into a blog post. Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted the The Broke and the Bookish.

So without further ado, here is this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, books to read when you’re stressed.


1. All I Know Now by Carrie Hope Fletcher

24595725“We all know that growing up is hard to do, and sometimes the only thing that makes it better are the reassuring words of someone who has walked that bumpy road just a few steps ahead of you and somehow ended up as a fully-functioning adult. Carrie Hope Fletcher is that person.* Thanks to her phenomenally popular YouTube videos, Carrie has become an ‘honorary big sister’ to hundreds of thousands of young people who turn to her for advice, friendship and, most of all, the knowledge that things will get better.”

I spoke about this book in my Standalone Sunday last week and I must say it links to this topic so well. The advice that I got when reading this book would certainly help with the stress I am feeling now. So, if you read this book when you were stressed I am sure it would reassure you that you aren’t the only person in your situation.


2. Kindred Spirits by Rainbow Rowell 

26365537“If you broke Elena’s heart, Star Wars would spill out. So when she decides to queue outside her local cinema to see the new movie, she’s expecting a celebration with crowds of people who love Han, Luke and Leia just as much as she does. What she’s not expecting is to be last in a line of only three people; to have to pee into a collectible Star Wars soda cup behind a dumpster or to meet that unlikely someone who just might truly understand the way she feels.”

This was one of the world book day books last year. I ended up picking up a couple of copies of this book because it only cost me a £1. The book is only around 90 pages long and is an extremely quick read. It is the perfect length to just shut yourself off from the world for an hour or so to read a fantastic short story.


3. Unboxed by Non Pratt

non-prattUnboxed is about four teenagers who come together after several months apart. In previous years, they had put together a time capsule about their best summer with a friend who was dying. Now that their friend has passed, they reunite to open the box.”

This book is another speedy read that I read a whilst back when I suddenly became stressed. I had finished it within the day and I loved it. I would really recommend picking this book up when you are next stressed. Just give yourself a few hours to switch off and read this book. You can find my review of Unboxed here. 


4. Hello Me, it’s You by Hannah Todd and Anonymous

41h7yfq0gxl“Hello Me, it’s You is a collection of letters by young adults aged 17-24 about their experiences with mental health issues. The letters are written to their 16-year-old selves, giving beautifully honest advice, insight and encouragement for all that lays ahead of them.”

This book is another perfect book to read when you are stressed and/or anxious. The topics and issues covered in this book are topics I wish people knew more about in today’s society. This book is another short read and only took me one day to finish. It was so nice to read so many honest letters and pieces of advice. Find my review for this book here.


5. Everything Everything by Nicola Yoon

8“My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.”

This is another book I would recommend reading when stressed purely because of how quickly you get stuck into this book and lost in the world of this book. I read it within a day not so long ago. I just sat in my room and wanted to relax for a little while and this helped me relax an awful lot.


There you have it, this weeks Top Ten Tuesday, books to read when you’re stressed! I’m really sorry there are only 5 books on this weeks list. I am really stressed myself and I’m struggling to concentrate on anything at the minute. Hopefully I will come back to this list and keep adding more books on though. 

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @Loisreadsbooks, on Goodreads here and don’t forget to follow us.

Until next time, 

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

9 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Books to Read when you’re Stressed

  1. Pingback: March is a wrap!

Leave a Reply

