Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Opening · Tag · Uncategorized

Desert Island Discs Blog Tag

Screen Shot 2017-05-05 at 11.45.11.png

Hey guys, it’s Lois. I have been meaning to do this post for a while now. Zuky @ Bookbum tagged me in this a long time ago! Zuky is so lovely and you really should check out her blog! I have been so busy that I have only just got round to doing it. Let’s see what this tag is all about!


The Rules:

  • Link back to Zuky’s (BookBum’s) original post, so that she can see all your answers! (Remember to do this via pingback!)
  • Thank the person(s) who tagged you… show some love!
  • Come up with your answers!
  • Then tag others to keep the tag going!

What is Desert Island Disks?

You are cast away onto a remote island:

  • You can bring 5 albums, what are they?
  • You can bring ONE book (not including The Bible (or other appropriate religious texts) or The Complete Works of Shakespeare, as they are already provided and NO SERIES), what ONE book is it?
  • You can have one luxury item (it has to be inanimate and can’t help you escape the island), what is it?

My Answers:

The 5 Albums I would take:

1) Hamilton (Original Broadway Cast Recording)

A1Ft9MsmP3L._SL1500_.jpgHow in the world could I not bring this album with me to a desert island. I have listened to this album almost non-stop (little joke there!) since November. It is the best thing to listen to when you are driving. I become a musical theatre performer when listening to this album. I can imagine just being on a desert island and being found performing a one woman version of Hamilton!

My favourite song on the album: Wait For It

2) Memory Lane – The Best of McFly by McFly

Memory_Lane_the_best_of_Mcfly.jpgI literally couldn’t go more than a month without listening to a McFly album. I have been a fan of this band since the young age of 5. I’m 19 now so that is a long time! I have seen McFly live just over 20 times my first being when I was 5. Their music makes me so happy but some of it makes me cry (which is needed sometimes). I just love McFly!

My favourite song on the album: Transylvania

3) Future Hearts by All Time Low

All_Time_Low,_Future_Hearts_album_cover,_2015All Time Low are fantastic! I saw them live for the third time last month and they were as amazing as ever! I am currently alternating between Future Hearts and Hamilton in my car. All Time Low are just the perfect genre for my music taste. So, I would have to have this with me on a Desert Island.

My favourite song on the album: Missing You

4) American Idiot by Green Day

Green_Day_-_American_Idiot_coverI know a lot of people strongly dislike this album. But, not me. I grew up with this album, from around the age of 6 my Dad would play this album on any car journey we went on. I remember little 6 year old me desperate to be a rock chick head-banging along to all of the songs. I just think this would be a nice album to have on a desert island just to remind of little moments in life and how much they mean in the long run.

My favourite song on the album: Are We The Waiting/ St. Jimmy

5) Greatest Hits by Foo Fighters

foo-greatesthitsAnother of my music loves that I have got from my Dad. We are both huge fans of the Foo Fighters and saw them live just short of 2 years ago (best concert ever!). They are just an amazing band who I could listen to for hours on end. I really hope I get to see them live again. I think this would be good on a desert island because I could spend hours playing air guitar.

My favourite song on the album: I can’t pick one so Monkey Wrench or Skin and Bones


The one book I would take:

25744542This one is so obvious especially if you read this blog. I mention this book non-stop!

On the Other Side by Carrie Hope Fletcher

How could I not take this book with me to a desert island! It is my favourite book ever and I could just read it over and over again.

Carrie Hope Fletcher’s writing would calm me and make me smile and cry but most of all switch me off from the real world and being stuck on a desert island.


The one luxury item I would take:

412026406078.jpegI would have to bring Stitch. Stitch is my teddy bear that I have in my bed every night when I am home. I have another Stitch for when I am at David’s house. I have had Stitch since I was about 6 and I take him on every holiday with me. I just couldn’t leave him at home. I need him to cuddle and just to keep me calm.


I Tag:

Crystal @ Lostnagoodbook // Lindsey @ Paradisbooks // Jess @ Beaucoupbooks // Rakel @ Mirakelbooks // Jackie @ Toomuchofabooknerd

I hope none of you have been tagged in this before!


There you have it the Desert Island Discs blog tag! This has been a lot of fun! Thank you again to Zuky for tagging me into this as well as creating the tag!

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here on Bloglovin’ here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-12-29-47

15 thoughts on “Desert Island Discs Blog Tag

  1. Pingback: April Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

