Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Opening · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

Standalone Sunday

screen-shot-2017-02-12-at-11-27-09

Hey guys. it’s Lois, back with another Standalone Sunday. I’m really sorry there hasn’t been as many blog posts this week. The internet has been down here for a few days now, so, I’m really struggling to get posts done. Standalone Sunday is a weekly meme created by Megan @ Bookslayerreads. Every Sunday we make a post about a standalone book, so one that is not part of a series. There is an awful lot of focus are books that are part of a series, so it is always nice to feature a standalone book.

So, here is this weeks Standalone Sunday book, Matilda by Roald Dahl.


9780141345161-us

Published: 1st June 1998

Synopsis:

“Matilda is a little girl who is far too good to be true. At age five-and-a-half she’s knocking off double-digit multiplication problems and blitz-reading Dickens. Even more remarkably, her classmates love her even though she’s a super-nerd and the teacher’s pet. But everything is not perfect in Matilda’s world. For starters she has two of the most idiotic, self-centered parents who ever lived. Then there’s the large, busty nightmare of a school principal, Mrs. (“The”) Trunchbull, a former hammer-throwing champion who flings children at will and is approximately as sympathetic as a bulldozer. Fortunately for Matilda, she has the inner resources to deal with such annoyances: astonishing intelligence, saintly patience, and an innate predilection for revenge.”

My Comments:

This is a weird one to include in a Standalone Sunday but it suddenly came into my head a few days ago. Matilda was the book of my childhood. She was one of the people who got me into reading for certain. Matilda also made me want to spend as much time as I could in the library. I came home every time I went to the library with a good 7 books if not more. Matilda is a wonderful story, it is absolutely perfect for any child bookworm but also for any adult bookworm too.


There you have it this weeks Standalone Sunday. Comment below if you have read this book or plan on reading this book as well as your thoughts.

We recently hit 200 followers here on Loisreadsbooks! So, to celebrate we are running a giveaway, so please check that out here.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here on Bloglovin’ here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

readingxxxhdpi

7 thoughts on “Standalone Sunday

  1. Matilda reminds me so much of my childhood. Hopefully your internet gets up and running smoothly again soon. Great post!

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and am very impressed by your blog. I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think it’s gonna be a few days for the internet 😔 thank you.

      Ooooo do exactly what you are doing comment on other people’s blogs. Create a Netgalley account and get requesting books. Also fun and creative posts! Hope this helps

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I was a little late in the Roald Dahl train, I only started reading his books when I was a little older. But I loved Matilda when I did get the chance to read it! Now I really wanna reread it again 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

