Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

May is a wrap!

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.15.00.png

Hey guys, it’s Lois. May was the first full month of my Summer holidays and it has actually been rather hectic! I’ll explain in this post!


Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.18.32.png

This month in terms of reading has been horrendous! All I seem to do these days is come out of one reading slump and go straight back into another. I have started a few books this month but just not been able to get into them.

The one book (I’m so mad it is only one!) I read this month was The Upside of Unrequited by Becky AlbertalliNow I absolutely adored this book! I read through it extremely quickly and I thought it was incredible. I plan on giving it 5 stars and will be reviewing it very soon, so look out for that!

30653853


Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.25.30.png

I really enjoy writing all of the posts for the blog this month. I struggled posting everyday of the week. I just haven’t had the time I wanted to sit down and blog. I really hope that change in June. Here are my Top 5 favourite posts from May.


Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.34.16

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.32.32I haven’t actually spoken on here about how many books I want to read in 2017 but I have decided to show you all now. I read 36 books last year which I know is quite poor but I was extremely busy. I knew I would be busy this year so I only upped my goal by 4. So, I really hope I read 40 books this year. I am currently 2 books behind schedule and I blame my reading slumps and May being a really busy month. Hopefully next month I can catch up and maybe even get in front of schedule.


Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.38.39.png

May has been one hectic month! I began looking for a full-time job in May whilst also doing my current part-time job. It is really hard trying to find something that suits the career I want to head into whilst still being close to home. I do eventually want to work in a publishing house but they are all down in London and I live up North so that is a struggle. I had a few interviews in May but nothing came of them, so I will continue my search in June.

EUROPEMEDITERRANEANSPAINCON_ESPLANZAROTEDES_000329.jpgDavid’s family surprised us both with a weekend away in the Lakes for our 2 year anniversary. I am beyond excited for that. It will be so lovely to relax for a couple of days near a Lake and just spend time together for our anniversary. So, June has both this weekend away and mine and David’s anniversary to look forward too.

Not only that but me and David are spending a week in Lanzarote towards the end of June and that was all finalised in May! It’ll be our first holiday abroad just the two of us and we can’t wait. How pretty does that beach look?!

Loisreadsbooks reached 200 followers in May! Thank you so much to everyone that follows this blog it means the absolute world! I decided to host a giveaway in celebration so you can find that here.


Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.51.00.png

I think because I am going on holiday in June this TBR isn’t too far from what I think I will read! I know I will read a lot on holiday and I am planning on reading more whenever I have a spare few minutes.

  • Countless by Karen Gregory
  • Spontaneous by Aaron Starmer
  • It Started with Goodbye by Christina June
  • Doing It! by Hannah Witton
  • Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner

Screen Shot 2017-06-01 at 19.54.04.png

There you have it, May is over with! I cannot wait to see what June holds! But also, how are we almost halfway through 2017 already! 

We recently hit 200 followers here on Loisreadsbooks! So, to celebrate we are running a giveaway, so please check that out here.

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here on Bloglovin’ here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

readingxxxhdpi

8 thoughts on “May is a wrap!

Leave a Reply

