Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · Uncategorized

An Unexpected Book Haul!

Screen Shot 2017-06-10 at 16.14.13.png

Hi guys, it’s Lois! I am back today with an unexpected book haul! This week has been incredibly busy. I have had a job interview and I spent last weekend in the Lake District with David. But that gave me the chance to finally break my book buying ban and spend some of my money on the recently released books! I bought a total of 4 books, it isn’t the biggest haul I’ve ever done but it is a haul non the less.


1) Truth or Dare by Non Pratt

25458747 (1)“How far is too far when it comes to the people you love? Claire Casey hates being the centre of attention. But if it means getting Sef Malik to notice her, it’s a risk she’s happy to take. Sef is prepared to do anything to help his recently disabled brother. But this means putting Claire’s love – and life – on the line. Because when you’re willing to risk everything, what is there left to lose?”

I have been waiting for this book for what feels like years! I heard about this book I think late last year. I then spent ages reading up on the book. I love Non Pratt’s other book so I knew I had to get this one. As soon as I spotted a copy in the wild I picked it straight up!


2) Phantom Limbs by Paula Garner

23617206“How do you move on from an irreplaceable loss? In a poignant debut, a sixteen-year-old boy must learn to swim against an undercurrent of grief—or be swept away by it.

Otis and Meg were inseparable until her family abruptly moved away after the terrible accident that left Otis’s little brother dead and both of their families changed forever. Since then, it’s been three years of radio silence, during which time Otis has become the unlikely protégé of eighteen-year-old Dara—part drill sergeant, part friend—who’s hell-bent on transforming Otis into the Olympic swimmer she can no longer be. But when Otis learns that Meg is coming back to town, he must face some difficult truths about the girl he’s never forgotten and the brother he’s never stopped grieving.”

I only found out about this book a few weeks ago. It immediately grabbed my attention. So, when I saw that I could get both this and Truth or Dare at buy one get one half price. I quickly picked up a copy.


3) 928 Miles from Home by Kim Slater

34101441“Fourteen year old Calum Brooks has big dreams. One day, he’ll escape this boring life and write movies, proper ones, with massive budgets and A-list stars.

For now though, he’s stuck coping alone while his dad works away, writing scripts in his head and trying to stay ‘in’ with his gang of mates at school, who don’t like new kids, especially foreign ones.

But when his father invites his new Polish girlfriend and her son, Sergei, to move in, Calum’s life is turned upside down. He’s actually sharing a room with ‘the enemy’! How’s he going to explain that to his mates?”

This is another book I have been waiting for for a long time. I am a big fan of Kim Slater’s work. I have been on the lookout for a copy of this book for a couple of weeks now. So, when there was a stack of 4 copies in a bookstore in the Lake District I finally got myself a copy.


4) I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai

17851885“When the Taliban took control of the Swat Valley in Pakistan, one girl spoke out. Malala Yousafzai refused to be silenced and fought for her right to an education.

On Tuesday, October 9, 2012, when she was fifteen, she almost paid the ultimate price. She was shot in the head at point-blank range while riding the bus home from school, and few expected her to survive.

Instead, Malala’s miraculous recovery has taken her on an extraordinary journey from a remote valley in northern Pakistan to the halls of the United Nations in New York. At sixteen, she has become a global symbol of peaceful protest and the youngest-ever Nobel Peace Prize laureate.”

I have been meaning to pick up a copy of this book for months if not years. I have always wanted to read more about Malala. But I feel you have to be in the right mindset to read a book this emotionally hard-hitting.


There you have it an unexpected book haul! Hope you enjoyed and let me know in the comments if you have read any of these books!

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here on Bloglovin’ here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

readingxxxhdpi

7 thoughts on “An Unexpected Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

