Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · haul · Opening · Review · Tag · tbr · Top 10 · Uncategorized

Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2017 so far!

screen-shot-2017-02-14-at-13-21-59

Hey guys, it’s Lois. The folks over at The Broke and the Bookish are taking a break from Top Ten Tuesday for a while but I am not! I have missed a few weeks and thought I would go back and do the topics I have missed. So, this week I am going to talk about my favourite books I have read this year so far!


1) Things I Should Have Known by Claire LaZebnik

30971706Things Chloe knew: Her sister, Ivy, was lonely. Ethan was a perfect match. Ethan’s brother, David, was an arrogant jerk.

Things Chloe should have known: Setups are complicated. Ivy can make her own decisions. David may be the only person who really gets Chloe.

Meet Chloe Mitchell, a popular Los Angeles girl who’s decided that her older sister, Ivy, who’s on the autism spectrum, could use a boyfriend. Chloe already has someone in mind: Ethan Fields, a sweet, movie-obsessed boy from Ivy’s special needs class.”

I adored this book. I came out of this book having learnt a lot and smiling a lot.


2) Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen

cover103887-medium“Sixteen-year-old Petula De Wilde is anything but wild. A family tragedy has made her shut herself off from the world. Once a crafting fiend with a happy life, Petula now sees danger in everything, from airplanes to ground beef.

The worst part of her week is her comically lame mandatory art therapy class. She has nothing in common with this small band of teenage misfits, except that they all carry their own burden of guilt.”

Another book I adored. I am a big fan of Susin Nielsen’s books so when I finally read this one I expect to like it a lot. I loved it and would really recommend it for others to read.


3) The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr

30849412-1“Seventeen-year-old Flora Banks has no short-term memory. Her mind resets itself several times a day, and has since the age of ten, when the tumor that was removed from Flora’s brain took with it her ability to make new memories. That is, until she kisses Drake, her best friend’s boyfriend, the night before he leaves town. Miraculously, this one memory breaks through Flora’s fractured mind, and sticks. Flora is convinced that Drake is responsible for restoring her memory and making her whole again. So when an encouraging email from Drake suggests she meet him on the other side of the world, Flora knows with certainty that this is the first step toward reclaiming her life. “

This book was extraordinary. I have never read a book before about someone who suffers from amnesia. I learnt so much from this book and got so caught up in the story.


4) The Sun is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

61vhe0u9ppl-_sx329_bo1204203200_“Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.”

I read this book right at the beginning of the year and it is still stuck in my mind. Nicola Yoon is an incredible author. When it comes to her book I seem to read them with a couple of days because I get so stuck into them.


5) To All the Boy I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han (1)

15749186What if all the crushes you ever had found out how you felt about them… all at once?

Sixteen-year-old Lara Jean Song keeps her love letters in a hatbox her mother gave her. They aren’t love letters that anyone else wrote for her; these are ones she’s written. One for every boy she’s ever loved—five in all. When she writes, she pours out her heart and soul and says all the things she would never say in real life, because her letters are for her eyes only. Until the day her secret letters are mailed, and suddenly, Lara Jean’s love life goes from imaginary to out of control.”

I listened to the audio book of this right at the beginning of the year and thought it was amazing. It made me feel really happy and smile loads whilst stuck at work listening to it. I loved it so much as soon as it finished I began the second in the series.


51kcvxdp11l-_sy344_bo1204203200_6) P.S I Still Love You by Jenny Han (2)

I won’t put the synopsis down for this book in case people haven’t read the previous book.

I listened to this audio book incredibly quickly. Jenny Han is an absolutely incredible author. How can one person be so talented! I finished this book about 3 months before the 3rd book in the series came out. So, the wait was agonising.


303128607) Always and Forever Lara Jean by Jenny Han (3)

Again, I won’t put the synopsis down for this book.

I read this book instead of listening to the audio book and I’m so glad I did that. I read it just last week whilst I was on holiday. What an incredible end to a series! I cried, I laughed and I smiled. If you haven’t read this series yet I really do recommend it because it is incredible.


8) The Upside of Unrequited by Becky Albertalli 

30653853“Seventeen-year-old Molly Peskin-Suso knows all about unrequited love—she’s lived through it twenty-six times. She crushes hard and crushes often, but always in secret. Because no matter how many times her twin sister, Cassie, tells her to woman up, Molly can’t stomach the idea of rejection. So she’s careful. Fat girls always have to be careful.

Then a cute new girl enters Cassie’s orbit, and for the first time ever, Molly’s cynical twin is a lovesick mess. Meanwhile, Molly’s totally not dying of loneliness—except for the part where she is. Luckily, Cassie’s new girlfriend comes with a cute hipster-boy sidekick. Will is funny and flirtatious and just might be perfect crush material. Maybe more than crush material. And if Molly can win him over, she’ll get her first kiss and she’ll get her twin back.”

This book I was a big fan of. I loved how Becky wrote this and got the story across. I can’t wait to read another book by Becky Albertalli.


9) Fly on the Wall by E. Lockhart

30323804“At the Manhattan School for Art and Music, where everyone is “different” and everyone is “special,” Gretchen Yee feels ordinary. She’s the kind of girl who sits alone at lunch, drawing pictures of Spider-Man, so she won’t have to talk to anyone; who has a crush on Titus but won’t do anything about it; who has no one to hang out with when her best (and only real) friend Katya is busy.
One day, Gretchen wishes that she could be a fly on the wall in the boys’ locker room–just to learn more about guys. What are they really like? What do they really talk about? Are they really cretins most of the time?”

I read this book on the plane to my holiday last week. I finished it within the 4 hour flight. It was hilarious. I didn’t really know what to expect from this book but I loved it. E. Lockhart’s books seem to be the perfect books to read on a plane.


10) Countless by Karen Gregory

cover106650-medium“When Hedda discovers she is pregnant, she doesn’t believe she could ever look after a baby. The numbers just don’t add up. She is young, and still in the grip of an eating disorder that controls every aspect of how she goes about her daily life. She’s even given her eating disorder a name – Nia. But as the days tick by, Hedda comes to a decision: she and Nia will call a truce, just until the baby is born. 17 weeks, 119 days, 357 meals. She can do it, if she takes it one day at a time … “

I finished this book on the plane home from my holiday and I’m still thinking about it now. This book is so heartwarming and touching and made me feel a lot of things. I will be reviewing this book extremely soon!


There you have it, my top ten best books of 2017!

Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here on Bloglovin’ here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

readingxxxhdpi

7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Best Books of 2017 so far!

Leave a Reply

