Book Haul · Book review · Books · Discussion · Opening · Review · Uncategorized

I Don’t Know What to do!

Screen Shot 2017-07-26 at 13.27.51

Hey guys, it’s Lois! This is a different kind of post today as at the minute I am really stuck for time to write a full Top 5 Wednesday post! Instead I am gonna write a different kind of post.

As some of you may know I finished my first year of university back in April. I don’t plan on going back, university isn’t for me and it was making me feel extremely miserable. Obviously I had to think of something else to do instead of university. For the last 5 months I have been looking for a job. I have got nowhere so far. I plan on working in a company that works within the media industry. But all the interviews I’ve gone too all come back with the same reason for not taking me on. “You don’t have enough experience”.

I have asked all the companies after they have told me this how do I gin experience. Every single company I’ve spoke to has said “get a job in the Media industry”How in the world am I meant to get a job when everyone me to have experience. I feel like I’m fighting against myself. I have emailed so many companies asking for work experience (politely of course). But again either no one can give it to me or they have none available.

So, now I’m stuck. I really don’t know what to do. Companies would take me on if I had more experience but I can’t get the experience I seem to need. Hopefully I will be in a job before the end of September. I will be glad to stop applying for at least 10 jobs a day! Maybe one day I will have the dream job of being a graphic designer for a publishing house. But I still have a long long way to go!

Do any of you have any advise when it comes to getting a job and gaining experience. Anything is highly appreciated. I know this is a different post than what you normally see on this blog. But I hope you don’t mind.


Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here on Bloglovin’ here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

readingxxxhdpi

18 thoughts on “I Don’t Know What to do!

  1. I’m so sorry to hear you’re struggling with this. It’s so hard to get your foot in the door. I don’t really know what to say. Are there any other adjoining industries that you can try as well just for the experience factor? Like for example, I would work as a receptionist and then later apply as accounting clerk, and claim “office experience”. They know you can be relied on. I don’t know. It’s a hard situation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It really is isn’t it. I’ve been applying for receptionist roles as a progression role. I went to an interview this morning for an assistant. So I will have to see how that goes! Fingers crossed I hope 🤞🏼

      Like

  2. Finding your first job is probably the hardest thing out there. Have you tried volunteering with a company that you think you’d like to work for? That way you can see if you enjoy the work or not. Good luck with everything! 🙂 Try and stay positive!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If you want to be a graphic designer, have you tried doing some freelance work to help you? Like literally just approach small businesses and ask if they want branding done. Give yourself a brief, do it as professionally as you can. Then you have references for people you’ve worked for. There are also online or short courses you can do if you don’t want to stick it out at uni for three years.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Have you looked into apprenticeships? I think they’re a great way to get into roles! I’m only 20 but I’ve already got 3 years experience in marketing because of an apprenticeship I did for a year – I was then hired full time and I’ve just gone into a newer marketing role with better pay and a better job title!
    My boyfriend did a generic “IT apprenticeship” and now he’s working as a developer – not anything he did in the apprenticeship course, but it helped him work his way in!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I graduated a year ago and i still don’t have a job so I know how you feel! It makes you feel awful but remember that it won’t be this way forever. I can’t really offer any other advice except to keep applying to work experience and internship roles, like even if they’re only a week or two long. Maybe there’s some volunteering roles locally that you can apply to? (Do-it.org is a good website for that). Also, does your university have a volunteering service? Even if you’re no longer there maybe you could make use of their services? I work for an online library which helps with my proofreading and editing skills, so that looks good on my CV (i’m hoping to get into the publishing industry).. You sound like you’re on the right track though ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That’s my plan apply to as many things as I possibly can! I don’t believe they have a volunteering service. And they are being rather horrible to me at the minute over leaving. Thank you so much ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

