Book review · Books · Discussion · Nature · Opening · Review · Uncategorized

Book Review: Fly on the Wall by E. Lockhart

Screen Shot 2017-07-28 at 16.24.44.png

Title: Fly on the Wall (2006)
Author: E. Lockhart
Genres: Young Adult, Fantasy, Romance, Contemporary and Fiction
Publisher: Hot Key Books
Release Date: 14th March 2006
Rating: ★★★★☆
Reviewed by: Lois


SYNOPSIS:

“At the Manhattan School for Art and Music, where everyone is “different” and everyone is “special,” Gretchen Yee feels ordinary. She’s the kind of girl who sits alone at lunch, drawing pictures of Spider-Man, so she won’t have to talk to anyone; who has a crush on Titus but won’t do anything about it; who has no one to hang out with when her best (and only real) friend Katya is busy.

One day, Gretchen wishes that she could be a fly on the wall in the boys’ locker room–just to learn more about guys. What are they really like? What do they really talk about? Are they really cretins most of the time?”


REVIEW:

16-year-old Gretchen doesn’t fit in at the Manhattan School for Art and Music. Her teachers don’t think she will ever amount to anything. Her friends seem to be ignoring her and her parents are having marriage troubles.

I previously read We Were Liars by E. Lockhart on a plane journey and it was the perfect length for a 2 hour flight. So, I decided to read Fly on the Wall on a 4 hour flight this Summer. I started the book as soon as I was settled into my seat on the flight. I had finished the book by the end of the flight and even got to watch a film in-between reading. This book is certainly a quick read and perfect to take up time on a flight.

I went into this book knowing very little other than it was written by E. Lockhart and that Gretchen spends one week as a fly. I thought this book was going to be all over the place at first and make no sense. But E. Lockhart somehow makes the story work and seem as realistic as it can. I also thought that the week Gretchen spent as a fly would be rather disgusting and graphic. But it wasn’t, instead it was the most hilarious section of this book.

I was a huge fan of Gretchen as a main character. I loved her interest in superheroes and comics. I think being a big fan of both of those things made her character more interesting to me. Each side character brought something different to the mix which again I really enjoyed.

This book can be rather ‘childlish’ at times. I think me being 19 and reading this book I should have expected that. So, if you aren’t a big fan of ‘childish’ sections in books maybe avoid this. I’m still really glad I read this book. This book can also be quite slow in places but quickly picks up its pace again in a few pages.

Overall, I would recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a quick read. Be it for a plane journey or just whilst sat at home. It is an hilarious book which you will read in no time.


Be sure to check out Book Depository using my link here: Loisreadsbooks

Find us on Twitter @loisreadsbooks,on Goodreads here on Bloglovin’ here and don’t forget to follow us!

Until next time,

readingxxxhdpi

Leave a Reply

